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Sales Tax  and

Compensating 
Use Tax 

Welcome to the Kansas business community!  This 
publication has been prepared by the Kansas Department 
of Revenue to assist you in understanding how the 
Kansas sales and use tax applies to your business 
operation. Inside you will find information on what is 
taxable, what is exempt, how to collect, report, and pay 
your sales and use tax electronically, and other information 
of general interest to businesses. The Kansas Department 
of Revenue’s goal is to make collecting and paying these 
taxes as easy as possible and to help you avoid costly 
sales or use tax deficiencies. 

By law, businesses are now required to submit their 
Sales, Compensating Use and Withholding Tax returns 
electronically. Kansas offers several electronic file and 
pay solutions – see page 18. For the most up-to-date 
electronic information, visit our website. 
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KANSAS 
SALES TAX 

Kansas is one of 45 states plus the District of Columbia* 
that levy a sales and the companion compensating use 
tax. The Kansas Retailers’ Sales Tax was enacted in 1937 
at the rate of 2 percent, increasing over the years to the 
current state rate of 6.50%. 

2.00% (1937) 4.00% (1986) 5.30% (2002) 6.50% (2015) 
2.50% (1958) 4.25% (1989) 6.30% (2010) 
3.00% (1965) 4.90% (1992) 6.15% (2013) 

* Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire, and Oregon do
not have a general sales or use tax. Purchases made in these
states by Kansas consumers are automatically subject to
Kansas use tax. See Kansas Use Taxes, herein.

LOCAL SALES TAX
 

In addition to the state sales tax, counties and cities in 
Kansas have had the option of imposing a local sales tax. 
Before imposing a local sales tax, the governing body of 
the city or county must receive the approval of a majority 
of its voters. Cities may levy a local sales tax in five-
hundredth percent increments (0.05%). Counties may levy 
a local sales tax in one-fourth percent increments (0.25%, 
0.50%, etc.). Cities are authorized to impose a maximum 
sales tax rate of 3 percent (2 percent general and 1 percent 
special). Counties are authorized to impose a maximum 
1percent general sales tax rate. Legislative action is required 
for more than 1 percent. 

Although these are local taxes, the law requires them to 
be administered by the Kansas Department of Revenue. 
The local rate(s) are added to the state rate to arrive
at the total sales tax percentage collected by Kansas 
retailers from their customers. Local tax applies 
whenever a state tax is due if the tax situs for the sale is in 
a county or city with a local tax. 

The combined state and local sales tax rate 
in Garden City is 8.650%; the 6.50% state, 
a 1.15% Finney County, plus a 1 percent 
Garden City tax. The combined state and 

local sales tax rate for Finney County, but outside the city 
limits of Garden City, is 7.65%; the 6.5% state, plus a 
1.15% Finney County tax. 

IMPORTANT: The combined tax rate that is 
charged is based on the destination of the goods 

or service. In other words, the rate in effect where the 
customer takes delivery of the merchandise or makes first 
use of a taxable service. See Local Sales Tax Application 
Destination Based Sourcing, herein. 

Sales Tax Jurisdictions 

To assist you in collecting and reporting the correct 
rate of sales tax, the Kansas Department of Revenue has 
developed Pub. KS-1700, Sales Tax Jurisdictions, which 
contains an alphabetical listing of all Kansas county and 
city sales tax rates, their jurisdiction codes for tax reporting, 

and the effective dates of the tax. the Kansas Department 
of Revenue provides updates throughout the year of any 
quarterly tax rate changes, as well as additional jurisdictions 
imposing a local sales tax. This information is available on 
our website, as is a sales tax rate locator where tax rates 
can be obtained by entering an address or zip code. 

DISTRIBUTION OF REVENUE
 

All state, county, and city sales tax collections are 
remitted to the Kansas Department of Revenue and the 
department deposits the state sales tax revenues into the 
state general fund, with a portion designated for the state 
highway fund. the Kansas Department of Revenue then 
distributes  local sales tax revenues to the counties and 
cities in which they were collected using the information 
provided by retailers on their tax filings. 

SALES TAX AND YOUR BUSINESS

Sales tax is paid by the final consumer of taxable goods 
or services to you, the retailer. A Kansas retailer is 
responsible for collecting sales tax from its customers on 
taxable transactions. In collecting sales tax, you are acting 
as an agent or partner with the Kansas Department of 
Revenue. A retailer holds the tax in trust for the state, and 
then sends it to the Kansas Department of Revenue on a 
regular basis using an electronic filing method. 

Paying sales tax is the duty of your customers — it is 
unlawful for a customer to refuse to pay the sales tax due 
on a taxable transaction. When added to the purchase 
price of taxable goods or services, the sales tax is a debt 
from the consumer to the retailer, and as such, is 
recoverable by the retailer from the customer in the same 
manner as any other debt. 

SALES THAT 
ARE TAXABLE 

Kansas sales tax generally applies to three types of 
transactions. 

1)	 The retail  sale,  rental, or lease of tangible
personal property, including the sale or
furnishing of utilities within the state of Kansas;

2) Charges for labor  services to install, apply,
repair, service, alter, or maintain tangible
 
personal property; and
 

3) The sale of admissions to places providing
amusement, entertainment or recreation
services, including admissions to state, county,
district, and local fairs.

If you are engaged in any of these activities, you must 
collect sales tax from your customers. What follows is a 
detailed discussion of each of these general categories 
with examples. The law (K.S.A.) or regulation (K.A.R.) on 
which it is based is also included. 
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RETAIL SALE, RENTAL or LEASE of TANGIBLE 
PERSONAL PROPERTY 

To  be taxable, the sale must first be a retail sale as defined 
below. 

RETAIL  SALE — an exchange of tangible personal 
property (goods, wares, merchandise, products and 
commodities) for money or other consideration to 
the final user or consumer occurring within the legal 
boundaries of the state of Kansas. 

Sales for resale (purchase of inventory), and sales to 
wholesalers and others who are not the final consumer are 
not taxed. However, these sales must be accompanied by 
an exemption certificate — see Exemption Certificates 
herein. Kansas sales tax also does not apply to goods 
shipped to another state. See Out-of-State Sales, herein. 

TANGIBLE  PERSONAL  PROPERTY — any item to which you 
can readily attach a monetary value (food, clothing, 
furniture, vehicles, computers, equipment, books, 
tapes, etc.). 

Tangible personal property has a physical presence, it 
can be owned or leased and can be moved. Tangible 
personal property is different from intangible personal 
property (stocks and bonds) or real property (land or 
buildings). Other types of taxable sales of tangible personal 
property listed in Kansas sales tax law follow. Exceptions 
are noted. 

Construction Materials. Materials and 
supplies sold to contractors, sub-contractors, 
or repairmen for use by them in construction 
projects are subject to sales tax. Exception: 
Materials purchased by a contractor using a 
special project exemption number issued by the Kansas 
Department of Revenue or its authorized agent are 
exempt. 

Coin-Operated Devices. Sales made from 
any coin-operated device, dispensing or 
providing goods, amusement, or services are 
taxable. Examples include any type of vending 
machine, coin-operated telephones and car 

washes, and video or arcade game machines. Exception: 
Coin-operated laundry services (washers or dryers) are 
exempt from sales tax. Laundry detergent, bleach, etc. 
purchased from a vending machine are taxable. 

Coins, Bullion, Stamps, Antiques and Collectibles.
These and similar items sold at retail are subject to sales tax. 
Any retailer, including banks, pawn shops, collectors, dealers, 
etc. must collect sales tax on the total gross receipts received 
(K.A.R. 92-19-56).  The exchange of currency or coins at 
face value or at the current exchange rate is not taxable. 

Computer Software. Sales of computer software and 
the services of modifying, altering, updating, or maintaining 
computer software are subject to sales tax. Computer 
equipment and hardware are also taxable. Since January 
1, 2005 sales and/or services relating to customized 
software has been exempt. See Information Guide 
EDU-71R on our website. 

Meals and Drinks. Meals or drinks sold to 
the public at any restaurant, private club, 
drinking establishment, catered event, café, 
diner, dining car, hotel, etc. are taxable. Drinks 
containing alcoholic liquor are subject to the 
Liquor Drink Tax (see page 33) rather than 

sales tax. Cereal Malt Beverage license holders (3.2% beer) 
do not collect the Liquor Drink Tax. Instead, they collect 
Kansas Retailers’ Sales Tax on their drink sales. For more 
information on the sale of meals and drinks consult Pub. 
KS-1540, Kansas Business Taxes For Hotels, Motels and 
Restaurants. Exception: Free meals furnished to 
employees of public eating places are not taxed if the 
employee’s work is related to the furnishing or sale of 
such meals. Reduced cost employee meals are subject 
to tax based on the reduced price. 

Prepaid Telephone Cards. Sales of prepaid telephone 
calling cards or authorization numbers and the recharge 
of the card or number are taxable.  Exception: There is no 
sales tax on the 911 service fee imposed on prepaid 
telephone cards. 

Motor Vehicles and Trailers. The sale or exchange of 
motor vehicles is a taxable transaction. When you buy a 
car, truck, or other vehicle from a registered dealer, you 
must pay the sales tax to the dealer. When you buy a motor 
vehicle or trailer from an individual, you must pay the sales 
tax to the county treasurer upon registration. The rate of 
tax is determined using the sourcing rules for motor vehicles 
outlined herein. For more information on the sale of motor 
vehicles see Pub. KS-1526, Sales and Use Tax for Motor 
Vehicle Transactions, and EDU-31A, How Kansas Motor 
Vehicle Dealers Should Charge Sales Tax on Vehicle Sales. 
Exceptions: The following transactions are not taxed. 

– Motor Vehicles, semi trailers, pole trailers or aircraft
sold to a bona fide resident of another state, provided
the vehicle is not registered in Kansas and is removed
from Kansas within 10 days of the purchase;

– Motor vehicles or trailers transferred by a person to a
corporation solely in exchange for stock or securities
in that corporation (the original sale is taxable — the
transfer to the corporation is not);

– 	  Motor vehicles or trailers transferred by one
corporation to another when all of the assets of such
corporation are transferred to the other corporation;

– Rolling stock used by a common carrier in interstate
commerce;

– Motor vehicles or trailers sold by an immediate family
member to another immediate family member.
Immediate family members are lineal ascendants or
descendants and their spouses.

Utilities. Included in the definition of tangible 
personal property are utilities. The following 

are subject to the state and local sales tax 
(exceptions noted): 

Cable, community antennae, and other subscriber radio 
and television services. 

4 

http://ksrevenue.org/forms-btsales.html
http://www.ksrevenue.org/forms-bustax.html
http://www.ksrevenue.org/forms-bustax.html
http://ksrevenue.org/forms-btsales.html


Digital Satellite TV Subscriptions. Exception: The 
subscription fee is subject to the state sales tax only – 
local taxes do not apply. 
Electricity, gas, propane and heat.  Exception: Agricultural 
and residential use of these utilities are exempt from state 
sales tax, but are subject to applicable local sales taxes 
in effect at the customer’s location. 
Telephone and Telegraph Services; Intrastate, interstate 
or international telecommunications services and any 
ancillary services sourced to Kansas. Exceptions: Any 
interstate or international 800 or 900 service; any 
interstate or international private communication service; 
any value-added nonvoice data service; any 
telecommunication service to a provider of 
telecommunication services, including carrier access 
service; or any service or transaction defined in this 
section among entities classified as members of an 
affiliated group as provided by 26 USC 1986. 
Telephone Answering Services, mobile phone services, 
beeper services, cellular phone services, and other similar 
services. 

RENTAL  OR LEASE  OF PROPERTY 

Tangible personal property is taxable not only when it is 
sold at retail, but also when it is rented or leased. The sales 
tax is added to each rental or lease payment made, including 
“lease with option to buy” contracts and “rent to purchase” 
contracts. 

A Pittsburg, Kansas office equipment 
company leases copiers for $150 per month. 
Added to each monthly invoice will be the 
state sales tax plus the local sales tax in effect 

where the leased copier is located. 

Other examples of items commonly leased or rented that 
are taxable include: appliances; hotel and motel rooms1; 
boats; motor vehicles2; computers; movie videos/DVDs; 
equipment; tools; furniture; and trailers. Exceptions: Movies, 
films, and tapes rented to movie theaters are exempt since 
the sales tax is collected on the admission charge. Also, 
tangible personal property used as a dwelling (such as a 
mobile home) is exempt from sales tax when leased or 
rented for more than 28 consecutive days. 

1  Rooms rented for 28 consecutive days or less may also be subject 
to a transient guest tax. 

2  Vehicles rented for 28 consecutive days or less are also subject to a 
vehicle rental excise tax. 

NOTE:   Tangible personal property purchased for the purpose 
of leasing or renting, such as the purchase of cars (rental fleet) 
by a car rental agency, is exempt from sales and use taxes. 
This is considered to be a purchase of inventory for resale, and 
the rental agency would provide the seller with a completed 
Resale Exemption Certificate (ST-28A). 

TAXABLE SERVICES
 

A service is work done for others as an occupation or 
business. Kansas sales tax applies to the services of 
installing,  applying,  altering,  repairing,  servicing, or 
maintaining tangible personal property. 

INSTALLING 

Installation services include installing plumbing, wiring, 
cabinets, light bulbs and other fixtures in an office building, 
planting trees, shrubs or grass, or installing tires or parts 
on a vehicle. 

A Colby, Kansas automotive repair shop 
installs a muffler on a New York resident’s 
automobile in Colby.  The total bill (muffler and 
labor) is subject to the state and local sales 

tax in effect in Colby, Kansas. 

APPLYING 

This category of taxable services includes painting, 
wallpapering, applying fertilizer/weed killer, waxing floors, 
and resurfacing parking lots. All of these services involve 
the application of tangible personal property — the paint, 
wallpaper, fertilizer, weed killer, wax, or asphalt/gravel. 

ALTERING 

Services such as furniture refinishing, upholstery work, 
modifying or updating computer software, sewing, and 
alteration services change or alter the furniture, software, 
or clothing, and are taxable. 

REPAIRING, SERVICING,AND MAINTAINING 

Repair, service, and maintenance of tangible personal 
property includes these types of services: 

• appliance repair or service
• car repair or service
• dry cleaning, pressing, dyeing & laundry services

(dry cleaning and laundry services are also subject to 
the Dry Cleaning Environmental Surcharge) 

•	 maintenance agreements 
•	 pet grooming 
• tool sharpening (saws, knives, etc.) 
•	 warranties (including extended & optional) 
•	 washing, waxing, or detailing vehicles 

Following is a representative list of services that are NOT 
TAXABLE because they do not involve the installation, 
application, service, maintenance, or repair of tangible 
personal property: 

accounting child care mowing 
architectural engineering snow removal 
broadcasting excavating towing/moving 
hair styling trash hauling       legal services 
chimney sweeping cleaning (“real” property only) 

  Exceptions for Residential and Original Construction: 
Taxable services are exempt when performed in 
conjunction with the following. 
– Original construction of a building or facility.
– Restoration, reconstruction, remodeling, or renovation

of a residence (since 7/1/98).
–	 Addition of an entire room or floor to an existing building

or facility.
– Completion of any unfinished portion of an existing

building or facility for the first owner.
– Restoration, reconstruction, or replacement of a

building, facility or utility structure damaged or
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destroyed by fire, flood, tornado, lightning, explosion, 
windstorm (80 mph or more), ice loading and attendant 
winds, terrorism, or earthquake. “Utility structure” 
means transmission and distribution lines owned by 
an independent transmission company or cooperative, 
the Kansas electric transmission authority or natural 
gas or electric public utility. 

– Construction, reconstruction, restoration, replacement,
or repair of a bridge or highway.

CAUTION: Many service professionals provide 
both taxable and nontaxable services. There are 
also other special rules that apply to contractors 

and the labor services industry not discussed here. 
Consult the Policy Information Library on our website for 
additional information about specific service situations. 

The following sales tax guidelines have been issued by 
the Kansas Department of Revenue and are available on 
our website. 

• Contractors and Contractor-Retailers (EDU-26)
• Fabricators (EDU-27)
•	 Businesses that Sell and Service Appliances and

Electronic Products (EDU-28)

ADMISSIONS
 

An admission or fee charged to any place providing 
amusement, entertainment, or recreation services is 
taxable. Taxable admissions include: 
Tickets to a concert, sporting event, movie, circus, rodeo, 
or any other event where a ticket is required;
 
Admissions to a fair, amusement park, zoo, antique or
craft show, club, or other facility charging an admission
fee or cover charge;
 
Dues or Memberships that entitle you to use a facility for 
recreation or entertainment, such as a health club, country 
club, or the Knights of Columbus; 
Fees and charges for participation in sports, games, and 
other recreational activities. 

Exceptions: The following admissions and fees have 
been granted a sales tax exemption. 
– Admission to any cultural and historical event that

occurs once every three years.
– Sales of tangible personal property (such as a button)

which will admit the buyer to an annual event
sponsored by a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization.

– Fees and charges by Kansas political subdivisions
for participation in sports, games and other
recreational activities. This includes city baseball and
softball leagues, or green fees or swimming pool fees
at city or county owned facilities.

– Fees and charges by a 501(c)(3) youth recreation
organization, exclusively providing services to persons
18 years of age or younger, for participation in sports.
Examples include: youth basketball, baseball, football,
softball, or soccer leagues.

– Entry fees and charges for participation in a special
event or tournament sanctioned by a national sporting
association to which spectators are charged an

admission. Examples of entry fees exempt under this 
provision include: 1) American Bowling Conference 
(ABC) tournament; 2) Professional Golfers 
Association (PGA) tournament; 3) National Hot Rod 
Association (NHRA) race; and 4) Professional Rodeo 
Cowboys Association (PRCA) rodeo. 

– Fees charged by nonprofit humanitarian service
providers exempt from property tax for participation
in sports, games, and other recreational activities.
Qualifying nonprofit service providers include: the
American Red Cross, Big Brothers & Big Sisters, Boy
Scouts, Girl Scouts, YMCA, YWCA, community health
centers, and local community organizations.

– Membership dues to military veterans organizations
and their auxiliaries, such as the Veterans of Foreign
Wars and the American Legion.

– Membership dues charged by a nonprofit 501(c)(3)
organization whose sole purpose is to support a
nonprofit zoo.

SALES TAX 
EXEMPTIONS 

Included with the taxable transactions in the previous 
section were some of the exceptions, or exempt sales. 
Other lawful sales tax exemptions fall into three general 
categories. These are: 

•	 buyers who are, and are not exempt,
• specific items that are exempt, and
•	 uses of an item which makes it exempt.

EXEMPT BUYERS
 

Direct purchases of goods or services by the following 
entities are exempt from sales tax (for a complete list see 
Pub. KS-1520, Kansas Exemption Certificates): 

• The U.S. Government, its agencies and
instrumentalities
 

• The state of Kansas and its political subdivisions,
including school districts, counties, cities, port
authorities, and groundwater management districts

• Elementary and secondary schools
• Noncommercial educational radio and TV stations
• Nonprofit blood, tissue, and organ banks
• Nonprofit educational institutions
• Nonprofit 501(c)(3)* historical societies
• Nonprofit hospitals
• Nonprofit 501(c)(3)* museums
• Nonprofit 501(c)(3)* primary care clinics/health

centers
• Nonprofit 501(c)(3)* religious organizations
• Nonprofit 501(c)(3)* zoos

*	 The 501(c)(3) designation refers to an Internal Revenue Code section 
exempting certain organizations from income tax. 

Exception: When the state of Kansas or nonprofit 
hospital operates a taxable business (such as a public 
cafeteria or gift shop), or when a political subdivision 
sells or furnishes the utilities of electricity, gas, heat or 
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water (except certain water retailers - see next column), 
non-inventory items purchased for use in these taxable 
businesses are taxable to the otherwise exempt group. 

To claim its exemption, the exempt buyer must complete 
and furnish the appropriate exemption certificate to the 
seller (see page 12). The sale must also be a direct  purchase 
— billed directly to the exempt buyer and paid for by a 
check or voucher from the exempt buyer. Purchases made 
by agents or employees of an exempt buyer with their 
personal funds are taxable.  Exception: Purchases of hotel 
rooms by U.S. government employees on official business 
are exempt, regardless of the method of payment. 

Exempt Entity Identification Numbers. To  help 
retailers identify the exempt buyers discussed in this 
section, the Kansas Department of Revenue will assign an 
Exempt Entity Identification Number and issue a Tax-Exempt 
Entity Exemption Certificate to qualified exempt buyers. 
From that date, Kansas exempt entities claiming a sales or 
use tax exemption must provide this completed exemption 
certificate (which includes their tax exempt number) to the 
retailer. See Pub. KS-1520. 

OTHER EXEMPT BUYERS 

Sales tax exemptions are also granted to the following 
entities. Where applicable, the exemption certificate 
designed for that particular exemption is noted. 

Certain Nonprofit Medical Educational Organizations — 
The following 501(c)(3) organizations are exempt from 
paying sales tax when buying items for the listed uses, and 
also exempt from collecting sales tax when these items are 
sold by or on behalf of the exempt organization for the 
stated purposes. This exemption is for goods and 
merchandise only.  These organizations must still pay or 
collect sales tax on taxable services and admissions. 

•	 American Diabetes Association, Kansas Affiliate, Inc.
• American Heart Association, Kansas Affiliate, Inc.
• American Lung Association of Kansas, Inc.
• Kansas Alliance for the Mentally Ill, Inc. and Kansas

Mental Illness Awareness Council
•	 Kansas Chapters of the Alzheimer’s Disease & Related 

Disorders Association, Inc.
•	 Kansas Chapters of the Parkinson’s Disease

Association
• National Kidney Foundation of Kansas and Western

Missouri
•	 HeartStrings Community Foundation
•	 Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, Heart of America Chapter 
• Spina Bifida Association of Kansas
• CHWC, Inc.
• Cross-Lines Cooperative Council
• Dreams Work, Inc.
• KSDS, Inc.
• Lyme Association of Greater Kansas City, Inc.
• Dream Factory, Inc.
• Ottawa Suzuki Strings, Inc.
• International Association of Lions Clubs
• Johnson County Young Matrons, Inc.
• American Cancer Society, Inc.
• Community Services of Shawnee, Inc.
• Angel Babies Association

Certain Water Retailers  — Public water suppliers who pay 
the Clean Drinking Water Fee are exempt on all purchases 
of property or services for that utility. See NOTICE 04-08. 
Diplomatic Tax Exemption  — Certain foreign missions and 
officials are entitled to a tax exemption based on reciprocal 
treaty agreements. Those entitled to tax exemption must 
present a Tax Exemption Card issued by the Office of 
Foreign Missions (OFM) of the U. S. Department of State. 
Details are in Notice 04-09. 
Domestic Violence Shelters — Since January 1, 2005, 
property and services purchased by or on behalf of the 
domestic violence shelters that are member agencies of 
the Kansas coalition against sexual and domestic violence 
(KCSDV) have been exempt. 
Habitat For Humanity — This organization may buy the 
materials that will be incorporated into its housing projects 
without sales tax. The exemption applies only to housing 
materials. Habitat for Humanity must still pay sales tax on 
all of its other purchases of goods or taxable services. 
Korean War Memorial — Property and services purchased 
by or on behalf of a 501(c)3 nonprofit corporation organized 
to construct a Korean War Memorial are exempt from sales 
tax. The Kansas Department of Revenue has issued Project 
Exemption Certificates (PECs) to the qualifying entities. 
Parent-Teacher Associations  — A PTA or PTO is exempt 
from paying sales tax when buying goods and services. It 
is also exempt from collecting sales tax on its sales of 
tangible personal property, but must collect tax when selling 
taxable services or admissions. 
Religious Organizations — All sales of tangible personal 
property and services purchased by a 501(c)(3) religious 
organization, and used exclusively for religious purposes, 
are exempt. Religious organizations also qualify to request 
a PEC so that materials purchased or furnished by a 
contractor to construct or remodel facilities for the religious 
organization are also exempt. 
Rural Volunteer Fire-Fighters — Property or services 
purchased by or on behalf of rural volunteer fire-fighters 
and used exclusively by them in the performance of their 
duties and functions are exempt from sales tax. 
Youth Development Programs  —  Sales of tangible personal 
property to a nonprofit organization for nonsectarian 
comprehensive multi-discipline youth development 
programs and activities, and all sales of tangible personal 
property by or on behalf of  such organization are exempt 
from tax. Examples include: Boy Scout and Girl Scout 
Councils and Troops.  Exception: Sales of taxable services 
and sales of property customarily used for human 
habitation (such as beds, chairs, bedding, and lamps) 
are taxable to a nonprofit youth development organization. 

For a complete list of all tax exempt entities, see our 
Pub. KS-1520, available on the Kansas Department of 
Revenue website. 

BUYERS WHO ARE NOT EXEMPT

The previous list of exempt buyers contains a number 
of nonprofit organizations. A common misconception is 
that all nonprofit organizations are exempt from sales tax. A 
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federal exemption issued under Section 501(c) of the 
Internal Revenue Code applies ONLY to federal and state 
INCOME tax, not to sales tax. Groups and organizations 
that are NOT EXEMPT from paying Kansas sales tax include: 

• alumni associations
• charitable and benevolent organizations
• clubs and professional associations
• labor unions

ITEMS EXEMPT FROM SALES TAX
 

Items used by these industries and groups are exempt 
from sales tax: 
Aircraft sales, parts, and repair services for carriers in 
interstate or foreign commerce, and since January 1, 2005 
sales of aircraft repair, modification and replacement parts 
and sales of services employed in the remanufacture, 
modification and repair of aircraft. See also NOTICE 
04-06 on our website. 
Broadcasting equipment purchased by over-the-air free
access radio and television stations to generate their
broadcast signals.
 
Drill bits and explosives used in the exploration of oil and gas.
 
Drugs and pharmaceuticals sold to veterinarians.
Farm machinery and equipment. See also Pub. KS-1550,
Kansas Sales and Use Tax for the Agricultural Industry.
 

NOTE: Since July 1, 2006, work-site utility vehicles equipped 
with a bed or cargo box may be purchased exempt from sales 
tax when used exclusively in farming and ranching. 
Since July 1, 2007, precision farming equipment that is installed 
or purchased to be installed on farm machinery and equipment 
is exempt from sales tax. 

Food sold to groups providing meals to the elderly and 
homebound, and food sold by a nonprofit 501(c)(3) 
organization under a food distribution program that sells 
the food below cost in exchange for community service 
and, since January 1, 2005, all sales of food products by 
or on behalf of any such contractor or organization for 
any such purpose. 
Integrated production machinery and equipment. 
Materials purchased by a community action group to repair 
or weatherize low-income housing. 
Medical supplies and durable medical equipment purchased 
by a nonprofit skilled nursing home. Also exempt since 
July 1, 2007 are oxygen delivery and kidney dialysis 
equipment and enteral feeding systems. 
Public health educational materials purchased by a 
nonprofit corporation for free distribution to the public. 
Railroad parts, materials, and services for railroad rolling 
stock used in interstate or foreign commerce. 
Rolling stock (trucks, buses, tractor-trailers, etc.), repair 
or replacement parts, and motor fuels purchased by ICC 
carriers. 
Warehouse machinery & equipment, racking systems. 

An exemption certificate must be completed for these 
sales to be exempt (see page 12). A detailed description of 
purchases qualifying for exemption is a part of each 
exemption certificate. 

OTHER EXEMPT ITEMS

The following items are exempt from sales tax in Kansas: 
Food stamp purchases 
Child Nutrition Act (WIC program) purchases 
Lottery tickets 
Prescription drugs and insulin 
Orthopedic appliances 
Prosthetic Devices & Mobility Enhancing Equipment — A 
prosthetic device or mobility enhancing equipment 
purchased by an individual for whom it was prescribed in 
writing by a licensed physician, chiropractor, optometrist, 
dentist, or podiatrist is not taxed [K.S.A. 79-3606(r)]. 
Exempt devices and mobility enhancing equipment include 
canes, chairlifts, crutches, eyeglasses, orthodontic braces, 
prosthetic limbs and braces, wheelchairs, and accessories 
attached to motor vehicles, such as wheelchair lifts or 
specialized hand or foot controls, oxygen delivery, kidney 
dialysis equipment and enteral feeding systems. Repair 
and replacement parts for the exempt equipment are also 
exempt if you have the original prescription order on file. 

NOTE: The Prosthetic Devices & Mobility Enhancing 
Equipment exemption does not apply to hot tubs, whirlpools, 
motor vehicles, or personal property which when installed 
becomes a fixture to real property. 

Repair and replacement parts for hearing aids, including 
the batteries, when sold by a person licensed in the practice 
of dispensing and fitting hearing aids pursuant to K.S.A. 
74-5808 are exempt. See Notice 04-05 on our website. 

The labor services of repairing hearing aids when 
repaired by a person licensed in the practice of dispensing 
and fitting hearing aids pursuant to the provisions of K.S.A. 
74-5808, are also exempt from Kansas sales tax. 

USES THAT ARE EXEMPT

Other items are exempt from sales tax because of how 
they are used. 

AGRICULTURAL ANIMALS 

Sales of agricultural animals and fowl (cattle, chickens, 
hogs, ostriches, sheep, etc.) and aquatic animals and 
plants are exempt when used in: 

• agriculture or aquaculture
• the production of food for human consumption;
• the production of animal, dairy, poultry, or aquatic

plant and animal products, fiber, or fur;
• the production of offspring for the above purposes. 

Animals that are not used for agricultural purposes (i.e., 
pets, show horses, etc.) are taxable. 

AGRICULTURAL SOIL EROSION PREVENTION 

Seeds, tree seedlings, chemicals, and services 
purchased and used for the purpose of producing plants 
to prevent soil erosion on land devoted to agricultural use 
are exempt from sales tax. 

PROPANE  FOR AGRICULTURAL USE 

Propane used for an agricultural purpose is exempt from 
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sales tax. Examples include propane to power farm 
implements or to provide heat for brooder or farrowing 
houses. Propane used for a recreational purpose, such 
as RVs and barbecue grills, is taxable. 

CONSUMED  IN PRODUCTION 

Items that are essential and are  depleted or dissipated 
within one year may be purchased without tax when they 
are consumed in the: 

•	 production,  manufacture, processing, mining,
drilling, refining or compounding of  tangible
personal property,

•	 treatment  of  by-products or wastes of any the
above processes,

•	 providing of taxable services,
•	 irrigation  of  crops,
•	 storage or processing of grain.

Examples include utilities to power manufacturing 
machinery, or fertilizers and insecticides used in the 
production of food. 

INGREDIENT  OR COMPONENT PART 

Items that become a part of a finished product to 
be sold to the final consumer are exempt as an ingredient 
or component part. Some examples include, but are not 
limited to: 

• oil paints, watercolors, and canvas used to
produce a piece of artwork for resale;

• paper and ink for publishing newspapers and
magazines;

• containers, labels, shipping cases, twine, and
wrapping paper which are not returned to the
manufacturer;

• paper bags, drinking straws, and paper plates
used in food sales; and

• feed for commercial livestock.

As a general rule, if the item leaves with the product 
and is not returned for reuse by the manufacturer or retailer, 
it is an ingredient part. 

The “ingredient and component part” and “consumed 
in production” exemptions apply to many business types. 
More information on these exemptions can be found in 
Pub. KS-1520, available on our website. 

NOTE: Contractors are considered to be the final consumers 
of their materials and therefore may not use the consumed in 
production or ingredient or part exemption to purchase job 
materials. 

OTHER SPECIAL SITUATIONS
 

EXEMPT CONSTRUCTION PROJECTS

Materials and labor services sold to a buyer holding a 
special Project Exemption Certificate issued by the Kansas 
Department of Revenue or its authorized agent are exempt 
from tax. Most of the exempt buyers listed on pages 6 and 
7 qualify to obtain a project exemption for most projects. A 
project exemption may also be issued to a business that 
qualifies for economic development incentives. 

FUELS 

Gasoline, diesel fuels, gasohol, alcohol fuels and other 
similar combustible fuels are generally subject to the Kansas 
Motor Fuel tax (herein). However, these fuels are subject 
to sales tax when the motor fuel tax does not apply, such 
as dyed diesel fuel for non-highway purposes. Other fuels 
such as aviation fuel, jet fuel, kerosene, and propane are 
subject to sales or use tax unless their use or purpose 
qualifies for an exemption. For example, propane for 
agricultural use is exempt, but propane for an RV is taxed. 

ISOLATED  OR OCCASIONAL SALES 

Sales tax is NOT collected when tangible personal 
property or taxable services are sold at an “isolated or 
occasional” sale. Isolated or occasional sales are as follows. 
1.	 Infrequent sales of a nonrecurring nature made by a 

person not engaged in the business of selling tangible 
personal property.  To qualify, the seller shall not:
a.	 hold more than two selling events of a day’s duration 

in a 12 month period;
b. conduct a planned annual selling event; or
c. hold itself out as being engaged in the business of

selling property or services of the type being sold.

Sales that usually meet this criteria are estate sales, 
farm sales, garage sales, and some auctions: 
2. Any sale by a nonprofit entity that meets these

requirements for de minimis fund-raising events.
a. All proceeds derived from the fund-raising event

shall be used by the nonprofit entity to further its
exempt purpose. 

b.  The fund-raising event shall not be in direct
competition with a for-profit business (in the same
area or at same event).

c.	 The fund-raising event shall not take place at a retail 
business’s premises during regular business hours. 

d. Sales at the fund-raising event shall be made by
members or the nonprofit entity and not by a retailer, 
or other for-profit business.

e.	 If a nonprofit entity buys goods to resell at a de
minimis fund-raising event, the nonprofit entity shall
pay sales tax on the purchases, unless the entity is
a religious organization. A religious organization may 
purchase goods without sales tax intended for resale 
at a de minimis fund-raising event. A non-profit entity 
shall not be required to accrue sales tax on items
that are donated for sale at its fund-raising event.

f.	 The gross receipts from sales at the nonprofit entity’s 
de minimis fund-raising events during any prior
calendar year shall not exceed $25,000. If the gross 
receipts exceeds $25,000 in any calendar the
nonprofit entity shall register as a retailer and collect 
sales tax on ALL future sales.

g. Each nonprofit entity shall be limited to not more
than six fund-raising events of not more than a day’s 
duration, during any 12-month period.

3. Sale of business assets in conjunction with the
sale or termination of a business (other than the
sale of the business’s inventory, motor vehicles or
trailers) if the sale is made in a complete and bona
fide liquidation of a business of the seller.
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a. The term “business” 	shall mean a separate place
of business subject to registration under the Kansas 
retailers’ sales tax act.

b. The term “a complete and bona fide liquidation”
shall mean the sale of all assets of the business
conducted over a period of not more than 30 days
beginning on the date of the first sale of assets, or
as approved by the director of taxation.

4. Auctions.
a.	 Take place at a location OTHER THAN one that is

regularly used to conduct auctions.
b. The goods being auctioned shall not have been

purchased for resale.
c.	 The goods being auctioned shall not have been

consigned for sale by more than one party in
addition to the principal seller at the auction.

d.	 If some of the goods being auctioned satisfy the above 
requirements but others goods do not, the sale of
every item at the auction shall be subject to sales tax. 

A Kansas resident has an estate sale before 
moving into a retirement home. The agent 
will not charge tax at the estate sale since it 
is an isolated sale of property that is owned 

by one household. 

An auctioneer conducts an auction of the 
inventory and fixtures of a clothing store. 
Sale of the inventory is subject to sales tax 
because the owner was engaged in the retail 

clothing business. The sale of the fixtures is not subject to 
tax as an isolated sale of property on which tax has already 
been paid. Exception: The isolated or occasional sale of 
a motor vehicle or trailer is taxable — see page 4. 

MOBILE  OR MANUFACTURED HOMES 

When a new mobile or manufactured home is sold, only 
60% of the total selling price is subject to sales tax [K.S.A. 
79-3606(ff)]. In this situation, trade-in allowances (described 
on page 17) are not allowed in determining the sales tax 
base. The rate of tax charged on these home sales is 
determined by the retailer’s location (see pages 12 and 13). 

The sale of a used mobile or manufactured home (a 
sale other than the original retail sale) is exempt under 
K.S.A. 79-3606(bb). 

REGISTRATION AND 
TAX NUMBERS 

WHO MUST REGISTER
 

If you sell goods, admissions, or provide taxable 
services you must be registered with the Kansas 
Department of Revenue to collect sales tax from your 
customers on behalf of the state and, where applicable, 
the city and/or county. This requirement applies whether 
your business is a sole proprietorship, partnership, 
corporation, or any other organizational type, including 
nonprofit, religious, governmental or educational groups. 

If you are making retail sales or providing taxable 
services in Kansas, you must register and collect the tax. 
Out-of-state retailers that maintain a physical presence in 
Kansas must register. Retailers from other states selling 
goods in Kansas at temporary locations (i.e., craft or trade 
shows, fairs, etc.) or non-resident contractors performing 
labor services in Kansas, must also obtain a permanent 
registration number. 

HOW TO REGISTER

    To apply for a tax number or to register for Kansas 
Retailers’ Sales Tax, visit ksrevenue.org  and sign in to the 
Customer Service Center. After you complete the application 
you will receive your account number and may print your 
Certificate of Registration. For complete instructions about 
the application process, obtain Pub. KS-1216, Business 
Tax Application and Instructions, from our website. 

If you prefer, you may apply in person – it provides 
same-day registration service. An owner, partner, or a 
principal officer (president, vice-president, or secretary-
treasurer) may bring the completed application to our 
assistance center. We will process your application, assign 
a registration number, and issue a Certificate of Registration 
if you have no outstanding tax liability. 

Another option is to mail or fax your completed business 
tax application to our office 3-4  weeks  prior  to making 
retail sales. This will ensure that your tax account number 
and registration certificate are issued before your first tax 
payment is due. 

SALES TAX ACCOUNT NUMBERS
 

Once your application is processed, your business is 
assigned a sales tax account number.  Your sales tax 
account number has three distinct parts: 

004-481880059F-01
Tax Type: Each tax type administered by the Kansas 
Department of Revenue has been assigned a number. 

The “004” is the number assigned to Retailers’ Sales Tax 
and appears on your registration certificate. 

Account Number = EIN (Employer Identi-fication
Number): The number is your federal EIN, followed 

by the letter “F.” The nine-digit EIN is issued by the Internal 
Revenue Service to identify employers and businesses. 
If you are not required to have an EIN, the Kansas 
Department of Revenue  will create an account number for 
you. These account numbers begin with a “K” (or an “A” if 
registering online with the Kansas Business Center) followed 
by eight numbers and the “F.” 

Numerical Suffix: The two-digit code at the end of 
the number is for the Kansas Department of Revenue’s 

use. Generally it is “01” and could either denote the number 
of locations or the number of registrations under this EIN, 
“K”, or “A” number. 

A common misconception is that your sales tax number 
10 

https://www.kdor.org/TaxCenter/login.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2fTaxCenter%2fSecure%2fDefault.aspx
http://ksrevenue.org/forms-btreg.html


KANSAS  DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
Division of  Taxation 

RETAILERS’ SALES TAX REGISTRATION CERTIFICATE 

NAME OF  BUSINESS 
123 SW MARKET STREET 
ANYTOWN, KS   66661-1584 Tax Account Number:   004-481880059F-01 

Inception Date:   001/02/2011/02/20021 

Filing Frequency:  Monthly 

This  Registration  Certificate  is  valid  until canceled and is  not transferable. 

is also a “tax-exempt” number. You must complete an 
exemption certificate when buying your inventory or claiming 
another exemption. Although your sales tax number is 
required on exemption certificates used to purchase 
inventory and other exempt items, the primary purpose of 
this number is to identify your business for collecting and 
reporting the sales tax. 

Be sure to write your tax account number on all 
correspondence sent to the Kansas Department of Revenue. 

YOUR REGISTRATION CERTIFICATE 

After a tax account number has been assigned, a sales 
tax registration certificate is issued to you. When you receive 
it, check it for accuracy and report any corrections to the 
Kansas Department of Revenue immediately (see page 29). 
The following is a sample sales tax registration certificate. 

Business Name and Address: Name and physical 
location for this registration number. If you do not have 

a fixed business location, your mailing address is used. 

Kansas Tax Account Number:  The tax-type and your 
EIN or “K” or “A” number assigned by the Kansas 

Department of Revenue to record your account information. 

Start Date:  Date retail sales began at this location or 
anticipated starting date as indicated on your business 
tax application. 

Filing Frequency: How often you are required to file 
your Kansas sales tax returns. Your filing frequency 

is determined by the amount of sales tax collected in a year 
using the chart on page 17. 

HOW  TO DISPLAY  AND USE YOUR CERTIFICATE 

Your registration certificate must be displayed in a 
“conspicuous location” in your business to let your 
customers know you are duly registered to collect and 
remit the taxes you are charging them. Many businesses 
place it in a display case or frame near their cash register. 
If you are registered for more than one tax, display them 
together.  You must have a registration certificate at all times. 
If it is lost or destroyed, request a duplicate from the Kansas 
Department of Revenue. 

If you do not have a permanent fixed business location, 
carry your registration certificate with you. Many retailers 
traveling from site to site laminate their certificate to protect 
it during travel. Your certificate should be available at each 
temporary sales location to present should a local or state 
official request proof of registration. 

You may copy the certificate. Many suppliers will request 
a copy of your registration to verify your sales tax number 
on an exemption certificate. 

RETAILER 
RESPONSIBILITIES 

THE CARDINAL RULE

Kansas retailers are responsible for collecting the full 
amount of sales tax due on each sale to the final user or 
consumer. Kansas retailers should follow this cardinal rule: 

All retail sales of goods and enumerated services are 
considered taxable unless specifically exempt. 

Therefore, for every sale of merchandise or taxable 
services in Kansas, the sales receipt, invoice, or bill MUST 
either show that the total amount of sales tax due was 
collected, or be accompanied by a completed exemption 
certificate. 

Follow this rule to avoid the expense of having to pay 
sales tax on items you sold without charging the tax or 
obtaining a completed exemption certificate. 

COLLECTING TAX FROM YOUR CUSTOMERS

There are two acceptable ways to collect sales tax from 
your customers. The sales tax must either be: separately 
stated as a line item on an invoice, or included in the price 
of the item. 

The most common method is to separately state the tax 
due on the invoice, bill, receipt, or other evidence of the 
transaction as shown in the examples that follow. If the tax 
is a line item, it must be clearly stated to the public as 
sales tax, and there must be a separate line on the invoice 
or receipt for the sales tax. 

If the tax is included in the price, it must be clearly 
stated to the public that the price includes all applicable
sales taxes. This method is often used by contractors or 
when it is not practical to add the tax at the point of sale, 
such as vending machine sales and sales of concessions 
where a large volume of sales must be made quickly. 

CAUTION: When sales tax is included in the price, 
you MUST compute the total sales without tax 
before reporting it as “Gross Sales” when you file. 

See page 19, Line 1 – Gross Sales/Receipts. 

IMPORTANT: It is illegal for a retailer to advertise 
to the public or any consumer –directly or 

indirectly that the sales/use tax or any part of the tax will be 
paid or absorbed by the retailer; sales/use tax is not a part 
of the price to the consumer; or, all or part of the sales/use 
tax will be refunded when it is added to the price. 

NOTE:   Amounts collected as sales tax must be remitted to 
the state. If too much tax is collected, it must either be refunded 
to the customer or remitted to the state. 
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SALES TAX RECORDS
 

It is most important to keep neat, thorough, and adequate 
records of all aspects of your business operation. Keeping 
good records will enable you to accurately complete your 
sales and use tax returns, your business and personal 
income tax returns, and determine the overall profitability 
of your business. 

There is no prescribed format for sales tax records. 
They may be maintained on a computer or kept in a 
notebook. However, the content of your sales tax records 
is prescribed by law. Retailers must “keep records and 
books of all such sales, together with invoices, bills of lading, 
sales records, copies of bills of sale and other pertinent 
papers and documents ...” [K.S.A. 79-3609] 

Whether maintained electronically or on paper, your 
sales tax records must contain the following documents and 
information. [K.A.R. 92-19-4b] 

1) Gross receipts from the sale, rental, or lease of
tangible personal property in the state of Kansas,
including any services that are a part of the sale
or lease, regardless of whether the receipts are
considered to be taxable;

2) all deductions allowed by law and claimed when
you filed (See Part II — Deductions on page 19);

3) the purchase price of all tangible  personal
property purchased for sale, consumption, or
lease in the state of Kansas (the cost of your
inventory, equipment, and fixtures);

4) all exemption certificates; and
 
5) a true and complete  inventory taken yearly.
 

You must keep these records for the current year of 
business and at least  three prior years. Some records, 
such as the purchase price of equipment and fixtures, must 
be kept longer for federal tax purposes. Your sales tax records 
must be available for, and are subject to, inspection by the 
Director of Taxation or authorized representative (auditor) 
at all times during normal business hours. 

EXEMPTION CERTIFICATES
 

An exemption certificate is a document that shows why 
sales tax was not charged on an otherwise taxable sale of 
goods or services. It allows you to purchase your inventory, 
ingredient parts, and certain consumables without tax, and 
authorizes you to sell taxable items to exempt customers 
without collecting tax. Most of the exemptions discussed on 
pages 6 through 9 require an exemption certificate. 

For a sale to be exempt, an exemption certificate must 
be furnished or completed by the buyer, and kept by the 
seller with other sales tax records. Do not send exemption 
certificates to the Kansas Department of Revenue; they 
are an integral part of your sales tax records subject to 
inspection by the Kansas Department of Revenue. When 
the seller obtains an accurately completed exemption 
certificate from the buyer and keeps it on file as part of 
their records, the seller is relieved from collecting the tax 
due on that sale. 

You should obtain an exemption certificate before billing 
the customer or delivering the property. Retailers are 
responsible for obtaining a completed exemption certificate 
even though the purchaser may strike the tax from the bill 
or claim to be exempt only after receiving the merchandise. 
If you are unable to get a completed exemption certificate 
from a customer, the sale is considered taxable and you 
will be liable for the tax. In an audit situation, you have 120 
days from date of notice to secure a completed exemption 
certificate from a customer. [K.S.A. 79-3609] 

Additional information about completing Kansas 
exemption certificates is on page 35. For more details about 
on how to properly use exemption certificates as a buyer 
or seller, and for copies of all exemption certificates currently 
in use, obtain Pub. KS-1520. 

DO NOT accept a copy of a customer’s sales tax 
registration certificate instead  of an exemption certificate. 
The registration certificate shows the buyer is a retailer — 
it does not certify the purchase is exempt from tax. 

LOCAL SALES TAX  APPLICATION ON DESTINATION-
BASED SOURCING 

Kansas participates in the Streamlined Sales Tax Project 
(SSTP). It is the goal of the SSTP that multistate retailers 
will, in the future, be able to remit sales tax for all of the 
states on one uniform electronic sales tax return. It is also 
the goal of SSTP that uniformity among the states in several 
areas of sales tax administration will cause the US Congress 
to require out-of-state retailers to collect the compensating 
use tax due on items that they ship outside their home 
state. Kansas, like many other states, loses out on millions 
of dollars of Kansas use tax that is due on purchases of 
items shipped into Kansas but not being collected by out­
of-state retailers. One area of uniformity among the states 
is in “sourcing” – that is, which local sales tax rate is due? 

Since the inception of Kansas Retailers’ Sales and 
Compensating Use Tax, Kansas has been an origin-based 
state for all but two types of sales. In essence, whether the 
customer took delivery of the purchased item at the retailer’s 
store or whether the item was shipped or delivered to the 
customer within Kansas, the Kansas retailer collected the 
combined sales tax rate in effect at his place of business. 
(The sale of electricity, gas, water, and heat and labor 
service contracts over $10,000 were the two exceptions.) 

GENERAL DESTINATION-BASED SOURCING RULES 

Since July 1, 2003, Kansas has been a destination-
based sourcing state. Under the sourcing rules, the rate of 
sales tax due on instate sales will be the combined state 
and local sales tax rate in effect where the customer takes 
delivery/possession of the purchased item(s). The seller 
will continue to collect the sales tax rate in effect at the 
seller’s  place of  business for over-the-counter transactions. 

If the item(s) is shipped or delivered to the purchaser, 
the seller will collect the combined sales tax  rate in effect 
at the location where the purchaser received the
item(s). This will be the location where the seller delivers 
the  item(s) to the purchaser, or if the seller ships the item(s), 
it will be the customer’s shipping address. 
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If the shipping address is not known to the seller, then it 
is the sales tax rate in effect at the  purchaser’s address as 
maintained by the seller in the normal course of business. 
If the seller’s records do not contain an address for the 
buyer, then  the seller should source the sale to the address 
of the buyer shown on the buyer’s payment instrument. If 
there is no address on the payment instrument for the buyer, 
then the sale would be sourced to the seller’s location. 

A customer enters Joe’s Hardware in 
Pittsburg, Kansas, makes a purchase and 
takes possession of the item at the store. The 
combined rate of sales tax due is the rate in 

effect at Pittsburg, Kansas. 

A customer enters Joe’s Hardware in 
Pittsburg, Kansas, buys an item and asks the 
retailer to deliver it to him in Columbus, 
Kansas. Joe’s Hardware will charge the 

combined rate in effect at Columbus, Kansas (where the 
customer took delivery). 

GIFTS/DELIVERY  TO ANOTHER ADDRESS  OR LOCATION 

When the product is not received by the purchaser at 
the seller’s location and the purchaser has given the seller 
instructions to ship or deliver the product to a donee of the 
purchaser, then the sale is sourced to the donee’s address 
furnished by the purchaser. 

A Russell, Kansas resident buys a computer 
from a Wichita business as a gift for a student 
attending college and requests that the 
business ship it to the student’s address in 

Hays. The student is the purchaser’s  donee, so the local 
sales tax applicable at the donee’s address in Hays, applies. 

RECEIPT  BY SHIPPING COMPANY  ON BEHALF  OF BUYER 

Receipt by a shipping company on behalf of a purchaser 
is not considered received for purposes of the sourcing rules. 

A Hutchinson, Kansas law firm orders office 
supplies from an office supply company in 
Overland Park and requests the company 
deliver its order to Jones Shipping Co., which 

the law firm has retained to deliver the order to its Hutchinson 
office. In this situation, receipt by Jones Shipping Co. is 
not considered receipt by the purchaser for purposes of 
applying the sourcing rules. Since the buyer did not receive 
the order at the seller’s location and the seller did not ship 
or deliver the order to the buyer or to a third party, the sale 
should be sourced to the address of the buyer shown on 
the seller’s business records. 

SOURCING  OF  SERVICES 

Destination-based sourcing rules applys to all retail sales 
of taxable services, as well as all sales of tangible personal 
property. This means that the sale of a taxable service is 
sourced or taxed based on the location where the purchaser 
of the services makes first use of those services (often the 
same location where services are performed). 

A rural Jefferson County resident brings his 
car to a mechanic in Topeka for repairs. The 
car repairs are performed at the mechanic’s 
shop in Topeka, and the consumer picks the 

car up at the shop location. The mechanic will collect the 
sales tax rate in effect in Topeka on the repair charges. If 

the mechanic had performed the repairs at the consumer’s 
residence, then he would collect the sales tax rate in effect 
at the customer’s rural Jefferson County address. 

The heating system goes out in a medical 
office in Mound City and a repairman is called 
to fix it. The repair charges will be sourced 
based on where the repairs were performed 

– the medical office’s location in Mound City.

LEASES  OR RENTALS  OF TANGIBLE PERSONAL PROPERTY 

For leases or rentals of tangible personal property (other 
than motor vehicles, trailers, semi-trailers, or aircraft that 
do not qualify as transportation equipment – see next 
column) in which periodic payments are made, the first 
lease payment is sourced under the general “destination­
based” sourcing rules, as described above. The payments 
after the first payment are sourced to the primary property 
location. For leases with only one payment, the sale is 
sourced under the general destination-based rules. 

A consumer enters an equipment rental 
business and rents a lawn mower for a day, 
picking up the mower at the business and 
paying for the mower at that time. The rental 

is sourced to the business premises, and the local sales tax 
in effect at that location applies. 

A consumer rents a tent for aparty in the 
consumer’s back yard. The rental business 
delivers the tent to the consumer.  The rental 
is sourced to the consumer’s location, and 

the local sales tax in effect at that location applies. 

A Cottonwood Falls resident enters into a one-
year lease as lessee of computer equipment 
and rental payments are due monthly.  The 
lessor’s business location is in Hutchinson. 

The consumer picks up the computer equipment from the 
lessor’s business in Hutchinson. This equipment will be 
located at the consumer’s residence in Cottonwood Falls 
during the term of the lease. Because the lessee first took 
possession of the computer equipment at the lessor’s 
business premises (Hutchinson), the first lease payment 
is subject to the sales tax rate in effect at Hutchinson. 
However, subsequent lease payments will be sourced to 
the consumer’s location of Cottonwood Falls. In contrast, if 
the lessor shipped the computer equipment to the 
consumer’s location, the first lease payment (as well as the 
subsequent lease payments) would have been sourced to 
the consumer’s location in Cottonwood Falls. 

SOURCING  FOR TRANSPORTATION EQUIPMENT 

In general, transportation equipment means equipment 
used to carry persons or property in interstate commerce, 
such as aircraft (including containers attached thereto), 
buses, trucks, railcars and railroad locomotives. The general 
destination-based sourcing rules apply to the retail sale, 
lease or rental of transportation equipment. 

SOURCING  FOR ELECTRICITY, GAS, WATER  OR HEAT 

The utilities of electricity, gas, water and heat have always 
been taxed at the local (and state) rate in effect at the 
customer’s location. Under the sourcing rules that went 
into effect in 2003, this did not change – these utilities 
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continue to be taxed based on the customer’s location. 
Residential and agricultural use of the utilities (except water) 
will continue to be subject only to local tax – the state sales 
tax of 6.50% does not apply to utilities used for a residential 
or agricultural purpose. Water for residential and agricultural 
use is exempt from both state and local sales tax. 

TELECOMMUNICATIONS SOURCING RULES 

Telecommunications service has its own sourcing rules. 
These rules are consistent with the federal Mobile 
Telecommunications Sourcing Act, adopted in Kansas in 
2002. This means that telecommunications sales are 
generally sourced to the customer’s billing address. 

Exceptions to the general ‘destination-based” sourcing rules: 
–	 Sales of watercraft, mobile homes, modular homes,

manufactured homes, motor vehicles, trailers, 
semitrailers or aircraft (NOT qualifying as 
transportation equipment as previously defined) are 
sourced to the retailer’s business location. 

A Bird City, KS resident buys a car from an 
Atwood, KS dealer.  The sales tax is computed 
on the 8.25% tax rate in effect at the retailer’s 
business location – Atwood. Additionally, the 

Bird City resident will pay the 0.25% difference between the 
Atwood rate and the 8.5% Bird City rate, to the Cheyenne 
County Treasurer at the time of vehicle registration. 
–	 Leases or rentals of motor vehicles, trailers, semi-

trailers, or aircraft (not qualifying as transportation 
equipment as previously defined) when recurring 
periodic payments are: 
a) involved, those payments are sourced to the

primary property location, which is the address for 
the property provided by the lessee that is available 
to the lessor from the lessor’s business records. 
This should be the registered address for the 
vehicle. Intermittent use of the property at different 
locations will not alter the primary property location. 

b) not involved, the lease or rental payment is sourced
according to the general “destination-based” 
sourcing rules. 

An Emporia resident, the lessee, leases a 
car from a Wichita car dealer, the lessor, for 
a term of 3 years, with monthly lease 
payments due. The payments are sourced to 

the primary property location, which is the address that 
the lessee furnishes to the lessor as the location of the 
vehicle (should be same as where vehicle is registered, the 
consumer’s Emporia address). The local sales tax in effect 
at the primary property location of the leased vehicle, 
Emporia, applies to each of the lease payments. The lessor 
will collect and remit the state and local sales tax in effect at 
Emporia on the lease payments. If, during the term of the 
lease, the lessee moves to Newton and registers the vehicle 
there, the payments due after the move will be sourced to 
Newton and the lessor will collect and remit the state and 
local sales tax in effect in Newton. 

A Council Grove resident rents a trailer from 
a rental business in Manhattan and takes 
possession of it at the rental business location 
in Manhattan. The rental period is 45 days, 

for a lump sum rental payment of $250. The rental business 

will collect the 8.75% Manhattan (address of the business) 
rate of sales tax on the rental proceeds of $250. If the 
rental business delivered the trailer to the consumer’s 
Council Grove address, the rental business would collect 
the 9.2% combined tax rate in effect at Council Grove, 
instead of the local sales tax in effect in Manhattan. 

UNIQUE SOURCING SITUATIONS
 

Special sourcing rules and procedures apply to the sale 
of a direct mailing and to the sale of computer software 
delivered electronically. This section explains these rules 
and the sourcing certificates used for these types of sales. 

For a direct mailing to addresses in several locations, 
the purchaser of the mailing must provide the seller with 
information showing the multiple jurisdictions to which the 
mailing is to be delivered, or provide a “direct mail form,” 
available from our website. 

A business located in Hays, KS purchases a 
direct mailing of advertising flyers from a 
printer located in Hutchinson, Kansas. The 
flyers are to be mailed from Hutchinson to 

the business’s customers at various locations. 
SITUATION #1:  The purchaser provides mailing addresses 
of its customers to the printer. The printer will bill the purchaser 
for sales taxes applicable to the destination of the mailing, 
using the addresses to which the flyers were mailed. If 500 
flyers were mailed to Great Bend, the local sales tax would 
be due on the price of those 500 flyers at the rate in effect at 
Great Bend. If 200 more flyers were mailed to Larned, the 
local sales tax would be due on the price of those 200 flyers 
at the rate in effect at Larned. 
SITUATION #2: Same situation as above, except the 
purchasing business gives the printer a Direct Mail Sourcing 
Certificate (ST-31) indicating the purchaser will assume the 
obligation to pay and remit the applicable tax on a direct pay 
basis. Having received a Direct Mail Sourcing Certification 
from the purchaser, the printer is then relieved of the obligation 
to collect and remit sales tax on the direct mailing. The 
purchaser is then obligated to remit directly the sales taxes 
applicable to the mailing, based on the addresses where the 
mailing was delivered. 
SITUATION #3: Same situation as above, except the 
purchaser fails to provide to the printer a Direct Mail Sourcing 
Certification, the information showing the jurisdictions to which 
the direct mail is delivered, or a direct pay permit. In this 
situation, the printer must bill the purchaser for state and local 
sales tax at the rate applicable to the location from which the 
flyers were shipped, Hutchinson, Kansas. 

A Sales Tax Rate Locator is available on our website to 
access sales and use tax rates and jurisdiction codes for 
any location in Kansas. Simply enter an address or a zip 
code plus 4. Retailers may also email a customer address 
list to the Kansas Department of Revenue and we will provide 
the sales tax rates and jurisdiction codes for each address. 

THE SALES TAX BASE
 

The sales amount to which sales tax is added is called 
the sales tax base. The law uses the term gross receipts. 
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Gross receipts  IS the total selling  price or the amount 
received in money, credits, property or other consideration 
valued in money.  Selling price  IS the total cost to the 
consumer, excluding discounts allowed and credited, but 
including freight and transportation charges from retailer to 
consumer. Selling price includes the cost of the property, 
materials, labor, or service used or expended, losses, 
overhead, and profit. 

Other aspects of a sale often affect the selling price or 
total cost to the consumer.  The tax treatment of common 
elements of a retail sale follows. 

SALES TAX TREATMENT OF SELECTED TYPES OF 
SALES AND INCENTIVES r

Using the previous definition of sales tax base, this 
section illustrates how to apply state and local sales tax to 
some common types of sales and sales incentives. 

CONSIGNMENT SALES 

If you receive property from another to sell on 
consignment, you are the retailer and are responsible for 
the tax collection rather than the owner of the consigned 
merchandise. This is true regardless of how you receive 
your fee or commission. 

COUPONS 

There are two distinct types of coupons used by 
consumers — store coupons and manufacturer 
coupons. The two types are treated differently for sales 
tax purposes. 

Retailers may offer discounts by issuing store coupons
that can only be redeemed in their business. When a 
customer uses a store coupon, sales tax is applied to the 
discounted price. 

A restaurant issues a coupon for $5.00 off any 
two meals. Sales tax is added after  the coupon 
is deducted from the price of the two meals. 
Cost of two meals ............................ $20.00
 
Restaurant coupon .......................... - 5.00
 
Taxable receipt ................................. $15.00
 
7% sales tax ....................................   1.05
 
Customer payment .......................... $16.05
 

The value of manufacturer coupons or redemption 
certificates for which a retailer is later reimbursed for the 
value by wholesalers, manufacturers, or others is taxable. 

A grocery store accepts manufacturer’s 
coupons. The value of the coupon is taxable 
because the seller is required to collect sales 
tax on the “gross receipts received.” 
Cost of item ..................................... $ 1.89
 
7% tax .............................................    .11
Total .................................................  $ 2.00
Mfr. coupon ...................................... - .30
 
Customer cost ................................. $ 1.70
 

A grocery store accepts manufacturer’s 
coupons, and they “double” them. The value 
of the coupon is taxable; the value of the 
store’s “doubling” is not taxable. 

Cost of item ..................................... $ 1.89 
Mfr. coupon (taxed) .......................... - .30 
Store doubled (not  taxed) ................ -  .30 
Sub total .......................................... $ 1.29 

Tax computed on ............................. $ 1.59 
7%  tax .............................................    .11 

Selling price ..................................... $ 1.29 
Tax ............................................... .11 
Total cost to customer ..................... $  1.40 

TIPS 

Tips are often a part of restaurant meals. When the tip 
is at the customer’s discretion, it is not a part of the 
estaurant’s charge for the meal and is not taxable. However, 

if the tip is mandatory, such as a statement on the menu, 
“A 15 percent gratuity will be added on parties of 6 or 
more,” the tip is subject to sales tax. 

DELIVERY, FREIGHT, AND POSTAGE 

Charges to the customer for handling and delivery are 
taxable. The sales tax is due whether the charge is included 
in the sales price, stated separately, or billed separately. 
See the Exception that follows. 

A store sells a sofabed to be delivered to the 
customer living in another county.  The sales 
ticket for the sofabed would read as follows: 

Cost of sofa ................................. $  450.00
 
Delivery fee .................................. 45.00
 
Total ............................................. $  495.00
 
6.8% sales tax ............................. 33.66
 
Customer payment ...................... $  528.66
 

NOTE:  Freight and postage are taxable ONLY when included 
as part of a total sale between the retailer and the customer. In 
the example above, if the customer contracted directly with a 
freight company to pick up and deliver the sofa, the freight 
company’s fee is not taxable. In either case, the sale would be 
sourced to the customer’s home address. 

Exception: Delivery charges for Direct Mail only are 
not subject to sales tax when separately stated on the 
invoice. Direct mail means printed material delivered or 
distributed by the USPS or other delivery service to a 
mass audience or to addressees on a mailing list provided 
by the purchaser or at the direction of the purchaser when 
the cost of the items are not billed directly to the 
recipients. Direct mail includes tangible personal property 
supplied directly or indirectly by the purchaser to the direct 
mail seller for inclusion in the package containing the 
printed material. It does not include multiple items of 
printed material delivered to a single address. 

DISCOUNTS 

Common discounts are sale prices – 20% Off and Buy 
One, Get One Free offers. When a retailer discounts an 
item to the customer, sales tax is charged only on the amount 
actually paid by the customer. 

A grocery store offers a “buy one, get one 
free” sale on an item costing $2.59. Tax is 
charged on $2.59 – the sale price paid for 
both items. 

You may also offer your customers a discount for paying 
an invoice within a stated number of days. When a customer 
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takes advantage of this type of discount, the sales tax is 
based on the discounted payment amount. 

You offer a discount of “2/10, net 30” on an 
invoice of $150 plus tax. A customer who pays 
the invoice within ten days will discount the 
price by 2 percent, or $3. Sales tax is due on 

the reduced price of $147. 

REBATES 

As a general rule manufacturers’ coupons and rebates 
are taxable. Sales tax is charged on the price of the 
merchandise before a rebate is applied, whether applied to 
the invoice at the time of the purchase or sent to the customer 
after the sale. 

GIFT ERTIFICATES  C
Gift certificates are not subject to sales tax. The sales 

tax will be charged and collected when the gift certificate is 
later redeemed for store merchandise. 

GIFTS  AND PREMIUMS 

When you donate, give away, or otherwise personally 
use merchandise from your inventory, you become the final 
consumer and are required to pay sales tax on your cost 
for the item, not its retail price. The sample in this publication 
illustrates how to report and pay sales tax on “Merchandise 
Consumed” by you. 

TRADE-INS 

A trade-in is accepting a used product in exchange for 
credit against the purchase of a new product. Sales tax is 
charged on the net price — after the trade-in allowance. 

New Car price .............................. $16,000.00 
Trade-in allowance ....................... - 6,300.00 
Trade difference ........................... $  9,700.00 
7.3% sales tax ............................. _   708.10 
Customer payment ...................... $10,408.10 

INSTALLMENT SALES 

Cash basis retailers will report and pay the sales tax 
due on credit, conditional or installment sales in the filing 
period the money is collected. Accrual basis retailers will 
report the sales tax on the full amount of the sale in the 
period in which the sale was made, regardless of when 
payment is received. 

INTERNET SALES 

The Internet is a method of attracting and transacting 
retail business. If the retailer and buyer are in Kansas, 
Kansas sales tax is due on a retail sale (including shipping 
and handling charges), whether that sale is made in person, 
by phone, fax or the Internet. By destination-sourcing rules, 
the rate of tax charged on the sale will be the rate where the 
customer takes delivery. 

When the retailer is in Kansas and the buyer is in another 
state, Kansas sales tax is not due; however, use tax may be 
due. (see Out-of-State Sales herein). Any use tax due to 
the other state is usually the responsibility of the consumer 
in that state, unless the retailer has established a physical 
presence “nexus,” or voluntarily collects tax for the other 

state. (Kansas retailers with nexus in another state may be 
obligated to collect that state’s use tax.) 

An isolated or  occasional  sale transacted over the Internet 
would not be subject to Kansas sales tax. 

OTHER KANSAS TAXES 

Some sales are subject not only to the Kansas retailers’ 
sales tax, but also to another Kansas tax or fee. For example, 
tire sales, dry cleaning and laundry services, and the rental 
of hotel rooms and vehicles are also subject to a Kansas 
excise tax (see Other Kansas Taxes herein). Each tax is 
figured as a percentage of the selling price, and should 
be separately stated. 

A hotel in Anytown, KS charges $68 for a 
room. Since a 5 percent transient guest tax 
is in effect in Anytown, the bill for the room 
will show both taxes: 
Cost of room ................................. $  68.00 
5% transient guest tax ...................  3.40 
8% sales tax ..................................  5.44 
Total ............................................... $  76.84 

OUT-OF-STATE SALES 

Kansas sales tax law applies only within the boundaries 
of Kansas. When merchandise is shipped or delivered 
outside Kansas (and not returned to a point in Kansas), 
Kansas sales tax is not due. Out-of-state delivery may be 
made by the seller, a common carrier, or through the mail. 

Since these sales are a deduction on your sales tax 
return, your books and records must show the merchandise 
was delivered outside Kansas. Acceptable proof of an 
out-of-state sale is a: 1) waybill or bill of lading showing 
delivery to another state; 2) post office, insurance, or registry 
receipt; or, 3) trip sheet signed by the seller’s delivery agent, 
showing the address and signature of the person outside 
Kansas who received the merchandise. 

When goods or merchandise are delivered to a buyer 
in Kansas, Kansas sales tax is due even though the buyer 
may later transport the property out of Kansas. 

NOTE: If you deliver goods to another state or have a physical 
presence or “nexus” in another state, you may be required to 
register to collect that state’s sales or use tax. See What is 
Nexus? herein. 

When a buyer, or his agent, takes possession of property 
outside Kansas, the sale is not subject to the Kansas sales 
tax, but may be subject to the other state’s use tax. 

A Kansas retailer receives a phone order for 
a shirt from a resident of another state and 
mails it to the them. Kansas sales tax is not 
due on this sale. However, the customer may 

owe use tax on this purchase to their home state. 

Sales to nonresidents are taxable if possession is taken 
in Kansas, with two exceptions: 1) Motor vehicles sold to a 
bona fide resident of another state who will title and register 
the vehicle in the other state – see page 4; and 2) sales to 
nonresident exempt buyers discussed above. 
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REPORTING AND 
PAYING SALES TAX 

YOUR FILING FREQUENCY
 

How often you will report and pay your retailers’ sales 
tax is determined by the volume of your retail business 
(see the filing frequency chart on the next page). The filing 
frequency for your first year of business is based on the 
estimated amount of tax liability you reported on your 
business tax application. As the volume of your business 
changes, your filing frequency may also change – through 
either a request by you or as part of an annual review by 
the Kansas Department of Revenue. For more information 
see Changing Your Filing Frequency on page 29. 

Prepaid Monthly Filing Status 

Retailers’ with an annual sales tax liability exceeding 
$32,000 are classified as having a prepaid monthly filing 
status and must file a ST-36. Essentially, the retailer is 
required to prepay sales tax collections for the first 15 days 
of each month on or before the 25th of that same month. 
The law provides that a prepaid monthly filer will be in 
compliance if the tax reported for the first 15 days of each 
month is either: 1) 90 percent of the actual amount of tax 
collected for the first 15 days of the following month or,  2)
50 percent of the tax liability for the same month of the 
previous year. 

IMPORTANT: Do not file as prepaid monthly unless 
the Kansas Department of Revenue has notified 

you in writing to do so, or you initially registered with the 
Kansas Department of Revenue to file prepaid monthly. 

Assume that a monthly filer received a letter from the 
Kansas Department of Revenue advising them to file prepaid 
monthly beginning January 1, 2015. Follow these steps to 
make that transition. 

File the December 2014 return (by 1/25/15) in the 
same manner as all previously filed monthly returns, 
skipping lines 4 and 5 of Part I. 

File the January 2015 return (by 2/25/15) reporting the 
sales tax collections for the month of January on line 

1, Part I and the sales tax collections for the first 15 
days of February on line 4 of Part I. 

File the February 2015 return (by 3/15/15) reporting 
all sales tax collections for February 2015 on line 1, 
Part I. Enter on line 4, the amount of sales tax 
collections for the first 15 days of March. Enter on line 
5, the amount from Line 4 of the January return. 

Assume that a retailer has been notified by the Kansas 
Department of Revenue to begin filing prepaid monthly with 
the January 2015 return. The total tax collected for January 
is $15,000. The total tax collected for the first 15 days of 
February is $7,500. Part I of the January return would be 
completed as follows: 

  1. Total  Tax $15,000
2. Total Net Deduction 0
3. Tax 15,000
4. Estimated Tax Due for Next Month  7,500 

  5. Estimated Tax Due for Last Month  0
6. Tax 22,500
7. Credit Memo 0
8. Subtotal 22,500
9. Penalty 0 

10. Interest  0 
11. Total Amount Due $22,500 

Further  assume that the total sales tax collections for 
February is $14,000, and the total tax collected for the first 
15 days of March is $7,000. Part I of the February return 
would be completed as follows: 

  1. Total  Tax $14,000
2. Total Net Deduction 0
3. Tax 14,000
4. Estimated Tax Due for Next Month  7,000 

  5. Estimated Tax Due for Last Month   7,500
6. Tax 13,500
7. Credit Memo  0
8. Subtotal 13,500
9. Penalty  0 

10. Interest  0 
11. Total Amount Due $13,500 

Filing Frequency Guidelines 

The following chart shows the guidelines for filing 
frequencies established by law [K.S.A. 79-3607]. If any 
due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, 
substitute the next regular workday. 

Annual Tax Due Filing Frequency Return Due Date 

$0.00—$80.00 Annual On or  before January 25th of the following year. 

$80.01—$3,200.00 Quarterly On or before the 25th of the month following the end of the calendar quarter— 
April 25, July 25, October 25, January 25. 

$3,200.01—$32,000.00 Monthly (Seasonal) 1 On or before the 25th of the following month—a March return is due by April 25 

$32,000.01 and above Prepaid Monthly 2 First 15 days liability is due on or before the 25th of that month. 
1 If your business is seasonal, you will file monthly during the period of business operation. 
2 The prepaid monthly filing status must report sales using the ST-36 form type as illustrated herein. 
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If you prefer a telephone option, you may wish to try 
FILE AND PAY  OPTIONS TeleFile. This option, like WebFile, allows you to file returns 

and make payments for several tax accounts with an access 
Kansas businesses are required, by law, to submit code. TeleFile requires that you use your access code each 

Retailers’ Sales, Compensating Use, and Withholding time you file or make payment. ANNUAL FILERS 
Tax returns  electronically  and there are several electronic REPORTING ZERO SALES:  You may use your touch-tone 
filing solutions available (see next page). telephone to file your annual multi-jurisdiction sales and/or 

use tax “zero-sales” returns. 
Most businesses have chosen WebTax for their online 

filing and payment solution. To use WebFile, simply create Electronic tax payments must settle on or before the 
a user login ID and select a password, then you can attach due date. Using WebTax, you can have your tax payment 
your business tax accounts. Each tax account has a electronically debited from your bank account (ACH Debit) 
unique access code that only needs to be entered once. or you may initiate your tax payment through your bank 
This access code binds your account to your login ID. For (ACH Credit). This payment method requires a completed 
future filings, you simply log into your account using your authorization form (EF-101) that is available on our website. 
self-selected user login and password. A history of all returns Credit card payments are also accepted through third-party 
filed or payments made is retained in WebTax. vendors. Visit our website for a current list of vendors. 

ELECTRONIC FILE and PAY OPTIONS 
For assistance with filing your return or making your payment electronically, contact our Electronic Services staff at 785-296-6993 or you 
may email Electronic Services at: eservices@kdor.ks.gov 

ELECTRONIC PROGRAM DESCRIPTION FORMS REQUIREMENTS GETTING STARTED 
OPTIONS ACCEPTED 

Retailers' Sales / Compensating Use Tax 
ONLINE Use WebTax to file single and multiple jurisdiction • ST-16 • Internet  Go to webtax.org and click the “Use
webtax.org sales and use tax returns. access WebTax Now” button.• ST-36 

WebTax allows filers to upload jurisdictions and • Access  Create a user login and a password. • CT-9U 
tax payments directly into returns. Users can also Code(s)

 Contact the Kansas Department of Revenue 
opt to retain jurisdiction information from previous • CT-10U • EIN for your access code. 
returns into their current return; saving time and • EF-101 form 
improving accuracy. (ACH Credit  Connect your tax account to your login and 

Payments) begin filing.

Complete a TeleFile worksheet (download it BY PHONE This TeleFile system can be used to file single • ST-16 • Touch-tone 

877-317-5639 jurisdiction returns. It may also be used for annual telephone from our web site or make copies of your
current worksheet for filing future periods).filers with multi-jurisdictions and zero tax to • TeleFile With zero report. Using a touch-tone phone, tax information worksheet  Contact the Kansas Department of Revenue  for 

sales: is entered from a completed worksheet into the your access code.• AccessTeleFile system. Your assigned access code and • ST-36
Code(s)  Call 1-877-317-5639 and use your access 

federal EIN remains the same for each filing period. • CT-9U code and EIN to access the TeleFile system.• EIN • CT-10U Using the keypads on a touch-tone phone,
enter the information from your worksheet.

Withholding Tax
ONLINE KW-5 Deposit Reports can be made using the • KW-3 • Internet  Go to webtax.org and click the “Use
webtax.org WebTax application. After connecting to your access WebTax Now” button.• KW-5

withholding account, click the “Make an EFT • Access• W-2  Create a user login and a password. 
Payment” link to complete your filing and make Code(s)
payment. WebTax also allows you to file your • 1099  Contact the Kansas Department of Revenue 

• EIN KW-3  Annual Withholding Tax return and your for your access code. 
W-2/1099 Withholding Reports electronically. • EF-101 form  Connect your tax account to your login and 

(ACH Credit A Form EF-101, Authorization for Electronic Funds begin filing.
Payments)Transfer, must be completed for ACH Credit**  Go online and complete a Form EF-101 

before using the EFT payment method. It is (ACH Credit* payers only). 
available on our website. 

BY PHONE A KW-5 return with payment can be made • KW-5 • Touch-tone  Go online and complete a Form EF-101.
877-600-5640 through the EFT payments telephone system. telephone  Contact the Kansas Department of Revenue 

• Access for your access code.
Code(s)

 Call 1-877-600-5640 and use your access • EIN code and federal EIN to access the EFT
• EF-101 form Payment system. Using  the keypads on your

(ACH Credit touch-tone phone, follow the phone prompts
Payments) to complete payment and submit your return. 

* ACH Debit: Kansas Department of Revenue debits the tax payment from your bank account. ACH Credit: You initiate a tax payment through your bank. 
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  (d) Sales of ingredient or component parts of tangible 
personal property produced: Sales of items that meet 
the definition of an ingredient or component part (page 9), 
for which you have a completed Ingredient or Component 
Part Exemption Certificate (ST-28D) in your records. 

(e) Sales of items consumed in the production 
of tangible personal property: Enter sales of 
items which meet the definition of “property that is 

consumed” for which you have a completed Consumed in 
Production Exemption Certificate (ST-28C), in your 
records. 

(f) Sales to nonprofit hospitals, or nonprofit blood, 
tissue or organ banks:  Sales of goods or services to 
public or nonprofit hospitals or to blood, organ or tissue 
banks for which you have a Tax-Exempt Entity Exemption 
Certificate (PR-78KS). Non-inventory purchases by a 
taxable business operated by the hospital, blood, organ or 
tissue bank – such as a public cafeteria or gift shop – are 
taxable. 

(g) Sales to nonprofit educational institutions: Sales of 
goods or services to nonprofit educational institutions for 
which you have a Tax-Exempt Entity Exemption 
Certificate  (PR-78ED). Purchases by agents or employees 
with their personal funds, and purchases of materials by a 
school to construct or repair a dormitory are subject to 
sales tax. 

(h) Sales to qualifying sales tax exempt religious and 
nonprofit organizations: Sales of goods or services to 
religious and other nonprofit organizations who have been 
granted a sales tax exemption. These sales must also be 
supported in your tax records by a Tax-Exempt Entity 
Exemption Certificate (PR-78RO). 

(i) Sales of farm machinery and equipment, replacement 
parts and service: Sales of farm machinery and equipment, 
repair and replacement parts, and labor services performed 
to repair or maintain farm machinery and equipment. Farm 
machinery and equipment does NOT include any passenger 
vehicle, ATV, truck, truck tractor, trailer, semitrailer or pole 
trailer other than a farm trailer.  To verify the exemption, the 
buyer must either sign the invoice certifying the purchase 
will be used only in farming and ranching, or complete an 
Agricultural Exemption Certificate (ST-28F). 

(j) Sales of integrated production machinery and 
equipment: Sales of machinery and equipment used in an 
integrated production operation at a Kansas plant or facility 
that are an integral or essential part of its process to 
manufacture, process, fabricate, finish, or assemble items 
for wholesale or retail distribution. Include also sales of 
repair and replacement parts and the labor services to install, 
repair or service said machinery and equipment. Exempt 
sales must be documented with a completed Integrated 
Production Machinery & Equipment Exemption 
Certificate (ST-201). 

(k) Sales of alcoholic beverages: Restaurants and private 
clubs selling alcoholic beverages will enter their alcoholic 
drink sales (exclusive of the Liquor Drink Tax). This is the 
same amount that is entered on line 1 of the Liquor Drink 
Tax return for the same filing period. 

WebTax and TeleFile are simple, safe, and FREE and 
conveniently available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 
You also receive immediate confirmation that your return is 
filed. Refer to your tax type in the following table to find the 
electronic filing and payment options available to you. 

If you need assistance with your access code you may 
call our Taxpayer Assistance line (785-368-8222) or email 
our Electronic Services staff (eservices@kdor.ks.gov). 

COMPLETING THE ST-16 FORM TYPE
 

LINE 1 — Gross Sales/Receipts. Enter on line 1 the 
total of all sales made during the period, both taxable and 
nontaxable. DO NOT  include the sales tax collected in this 
figure. If you bill your customers “all applicable taxes 
included,” or if the tax is included in your total sales figure, 
divide the total sales, including tax, by “1” plus the tax rate. 
The result will be your gross sales without the sales tax. 

You own 20 vending machines in a city where 
the state and local sales tax rate is 6.9%. 
Your total sales in June are $4,600. Since 
the 6.9% sales tax is automatically included 

in the price paid for vended products, you must calculate 
the amount of your sales without the tax. To do this, divide 
$4,600 by 1.069 = $4,303.08. Your gross sales (without 
the tax) to report on line 1 of Form ST-16 is $4,303.08. 

LINE 2 — Merchandise Consumed. When you remove 
merchandise from your inventory to use personally or as 
a gift, you become the final consumer of the item(s) and 
must pay the sales tax due. However, the amount to enter 
on line 2 is your COST for the item, not its retail price. DO 
NOT report the cost of inventory you have purchased for 
resale on line 2. 

Part II. If line 1 includes sales that are not taxable or 
exempt sales, report these deductions in  Part II of the 
ST-16. When taking a deduction, be sure it is supported in 
your records by the required documents, such as a 
completed exemption certificate or out-of-state delivery slip. 
If you are unsure about an exemption, see Pub. KS-1520, 
Kansas Exemption Certificates, or contact the Kansas 
Department of Revenue. The allowable deductions are: 

(a) Sales to other retailers for resale: Sales made to 
other retailers for which you obtained a properly completed 
Kansas Resale Exemption Certificate (ST-28A). 

(b) Returned goods, discounts, allowances and trade-
ins: Sales of merchandise sold and subsequently returned 
when the sale occurred in one reporting period and the 
return is in a subsequent reporting period. 

(c) Sales to the U.S. Government, state of Kansas, 
and Kansas political subdivisions: Enter sales made to 
these exempt entities for which you have Tax-Exempt 
Entity Exemption Certificate (PR-78KS). Only direct 
purchases qualify for exemption; sales to agents or 
employees using their personal funds are taxable, except 
for purchase of hotel/motel rooms for U.S. Government 
purposes. Do not include sales of property or services 
that are for a political subdivision’s utility department, since 
these sales are generally taxable. 
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(l) Nontaxable labor services, original construction,
and residential remodeling labor services: Contractors 
will use this line to report deductions for: original 
construction labor services; residential labor services; 
subcontractor materials and labor; cost of project materials 
on which sales tax was paid; and, nontaxable services 
performed (such as excavation). 

(m) Deliveries outside of Kansas: Enter the total sales of 
merchandise shipped or delivered to customers in other 
states. Out-of-state delivery must be substantiated in your 
records with one of the documents listed above. 

(n) Other allowable deductions: Itemize any other 
deductions. Three common deductions are: 

1) Sales of vehicle fuel on which Kansas fuel tax
has been paid: Gas stations, coops, and fuel retailers 
will enter fuel sales that are not subject to the sales tax 
because a motor fuel tax has been paid. 

2) Sales of prescription drugs, prosthetic devices
or insulin: Enter sales of these exempt items for which 
you have a written prescription from a person licensed 
to practice the healing arts, dentistry, or optometry.  The 
prescription order acts as the exemption certificate. 
Exempt prosthetic devices are defined on page 8. 

3) Bad Debts: You may take a deduction for bad debts
that are written off as uncollectible during the filing period 
and are eligible to be deducted for federal income tax 
purposes. 

CAUTION: Other Allowable Deductions does not 
include business expenses such as postage, 
mileage, utilities, booth rent, and other overhead 

items. You must keep records of these and similar expenses 
to determine your overall business profit/loss for income 
tax purposes, but they are not a factor in filing your sales 
tax. The sales tax filing is for reporting total sales made 
(taxable and not taxable) and the sales tax you have collected 
from your customers. 

LINE 4 — Net Sales. The net sales figure on a sales tax 
filing (such as line 4 of the ST-16) cannot be less than 
zero. Should your returned merchandise or bad debt 
deductions be more than your sales for the reporting period, 
use the deductions to reduce net sales to zero for that filing 
period. Use the remaining deductions on your next filing. 

SAMPLE COMPLETED SALES TAX FILINGS
 

The following examples illustrate how to correctly report 
sales of tangible personal property, personal use of 
inventory, and common deductions and exempt sales. 

Note that these examples are for illustration
purposes only and may not contain current sales tax 
rates. You can, however, use these examples to assist you 
in filing your return electronically. See page 18 or go to our 
website at webtax.org to determine the electronic filing 
option that is best for you. 

John and Sandra Murray own a convenience store in Anytown, KS. Total receipts for July were $14,588.93, 
including the 7.3% sales tax collected on taxable transactions. Sales to the U.S. Government were $45, and sales to 
a school were $150. They made a gift of six cases of Pepsi costing $30 to a neighborhood block party and took 
grocery items costing $20 from inventory for their own use. The following steps show their sales tax calculations 

and instructions for filing the July ST-16 return electronically. 

ST-16 (Single Jurisdiction Form Type) tips for using the system. Please take the time to 
read this information before clicking Continue at the 
bottom of the page. Figure the sales tax base for taxable sales. Add non-

taxed sales: $45 + $150 = $195. Subtract from total 
receipts: $14,588.93 - $195  = $14,393.93 
Compute the total receipts for the month, exclusive 
of tax. The $14,393.93 figure includes 7.3% sales tax. 
To compute the net, divide by 1+ the tax rate: 
$14,393.93 ÷ 1.073 = $13,414.66 
Figure the total gross receipts:
 
$13,414.66 retail + $195 non-taxed = $13,609.66
 

Review the information for the account you added. 
From the drop-down menu options, select your filing 
period, July, and tax year, then click the radio button 
for the return type. In this example, select Original. 
Click Continue to proceed to Part II. 

Enter the nontaxable and exempt sales deductions 
by category in Part II of the return – $45 in line C and 
$150 in line G. Click Calculate to get your total 
deductions, then click Continue to proceed to Part I. 
NOTE: The system will carry over to Part I the 
information you entered in Part II. 

Go to webtax.org to begin the filing process. Click 
Use WebTax  Now. If you are a first time user click 
Register Now; if already registered, click Sign In. 

After signing into WebTax, click Business Accounts. 
Then click Add Account to this Login and follow the 
instructions to add your tax account. After account 
appears, click on Manage Account and your account 
screen will appear. Click Save. NOTE: Once you 
have added your account, it will be retained in the 
system for future filing periods. 

Enter your gross receipts on line 1 – $13,609.66. 
Enter the cost of the inventory used personally on 
line 2: $30 + $20 = $50. Click Calculate to get the 
Total Due amount, then click Continue. 

Select your payment option: ACH Debit, ACH Credit, 
or Check w/Voucher. For definitions of the ACH Credit 
and ACH Debit payment options, see page 18. Click 
Continue for the verification screen. Verify all entries 
and click Submit Return. 

Click File a Return.  An informational page will appear 
with messages regarding important updates and/or 
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TELEFILE (Single Jurisdiction Form Type). Using the example on page 21, this completed worksheet illustrates how 
sales tax information is reported using the paperless TeleFile system. The TeleFile worksheets are available on our website or 
you may make copies of your current worksheet and use it as a template for subsequent filing periods. 

ST-16TEL 
Keep the worksheet 

Kansas Retailers’ Sales TeleFile Worksheet for your records.
DO NOT MAIL

1. Enter your 9-digit Employer Identification Number (EIN) ............................................................ 123456789123456789123456789 123456789123456789
(If you have a K or A number instead of an EIN, press “5” for letter “K” and “2” for letter “A”)

2. Enter your 7-digit Access Code ................................................................................................
 123456712345671234567 12345671234567

   3. Mark the box for type of return being filed: Original XXX XX   Press 1 Amended   Press 2 Additional   Press 3 

4. Enter the ending date of the current tax period (mmddyy) .........................................................
 073115073115073115 073115073115
Example: Press                                             1 2 3 1 1 5 for a December, 2015 return.

5.	 Gross sales or receipts (do not include the tax collected in this figure). 
To enter your gross sales or receipts as a positive amount, press 1. To enter your gross
sales or receipts as a negative amount, press 2. If you have no gross sales or receipts to
report, enter zero. Remember to enter dollars and cents. ...................................................... 13,609.6613,609.6613,609.66 13,609.6613,609.66

6. Merchandise consumed (purchased without tax.) If you took items out of your inventory for 
your personal use that were purchased without tax, enter the price you paid for these items,
including shipping and handling. If none, enter zero .............................................................. 50.0050.0050.00 50.0050.00

7.	 Schedule of Deductions. If you have deductions to report; press 1. If you DO NOT have deductions, press 2. Enter the amount 
for each deduction as applicable in the table below. TeleFile will instruct you to enter the line number that corresponds with 
your deduction item(s).   NOTE: Be sure to enter your deductions on the correct line. For a detailed explanation of these 
deductions, obtain Pub. KS-1510 and Pub. KS-1520 from our website.)

1. Sales to other retailers for resale ...................................................................................


2. Returned goods, discounts, allowances and trade-ins ................................................
 

  3. Sales to U.S. Government, state of Kansas and political subdivisions ........................
 45.0045.0045.00 45.0045.00
  4. Sales of ingredient or component parts of tangible personal property produced .........
 

  5. Sales of items consumed in the production of tangible personal property ..................

  6. Sales to nonprofit hospitals or nonprofit blood, tissue or organ banks ........................


7. Sales to nonprofit educational institutions .................................................................... 150.00150.00150.00 150.00150.00
  8. Sales to qualifying sales tax exempt religious and nonprofit organizations .................


9. Sales of farm equipment and machinery .......................................................................
 

10. Sales of integrated production machinery and equipment ............................................

11. Sales of alcoholic beverages .........................................................................................
 

12. Nontaxable labor services, original construction and residential remodeling ..............

13. Deliveries outside of Kansas .........................................................................................
 

14. Other allowable deductions ...........................................................................................

TeleFile will calculate your total deductions.  Enter the amount in the shaded box ........... 195.00195.00195.00 195.00195.00

Press         1 to hear the amount again or press         2 to continue.

CONTINUE TO NEXT PAGE 
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8. TeleFile will calculate your net sales. Enter the amount in the shaded box ......................... 13,464.6613,464.6613,464.66 13,464.6613,464.66

  9. TeleFile will calculate your net tax. Enter the amount in the shaded box ........................... 982.92982.92982.92 982.92982.92
Press         1 to hear the amount again or press          2 to continue. 

10. If applicable, enter amount of credit memo received from KDOR. If filing an amended return, 
enter total amount previously paid for the filing period you are reporting. If none, enter zero 000 00

11. TeleFile will calculate the total due. Enter the amount in the shaded box .......................... 982.92982.92982.92 982.92982.92
Press         1 to hear the amount again or press          2 to continue. 

BANKING INFORMATION 
12. Check the type of bank account you will be paying from: Checking  XXX XX    Press 1 Savings   Press 2 

13. Enter your account number ................................................................................................. 123456123456123456 123456123456

14. Enter your nine-digit routing number ................................................................................... 1  2  3  4  5  6  4  5  61  2  3  4  5  6  4  5  61  2  3  4  5  6  4  5  6  1  2  3  4  5  6  4  5  61  2  3  4  5  6  4  5  6

Bob Jones 1234 
Anytown, USA 

Pay to the

The example to the right shows where Order of: $ 
you can obtain the account number DO NOT 

and routing number from your check. 
Routing Account include the 
Number Number check 

number 

:123456456  :123456 99  1234 

15. TeleFile will give you the amount to be debited from your bank account and remitted
to KDOR. Enter the amount in the shaded box ................................................................... 982.92982.92982.92 982.92982.92

16. To confirm that payment will be deducted from your account on the 25th, press          1 .
If you prefer to use the next business day rule and have your payment deducted the day after you TeleFile, press         2 .

 DO NOT HANG UP UNTIL  YOU RECEIVE YOUR CONFIRMATION NUMBER! 

CONFIRMATION NUMBER 

17. TeleFile will give you a 12-digit confirmation number. Enter the number in the shaded 
box.  IMPORTANT: If you hang up before you receive your confirmation number, your return will not
be filed and your payment will not be processed ...................................................................... 123456789012123456789012123456789012 123456789012123456789012

Press          1 to hear your confirmation number again or press          2 to continue. 

18. Enter the date you TeleFiled your return ........................................................................... 8/24/148/24/148/24/14 8/24/148/24/14

After you fill in ALL the white spaces in this worksheet, you are ready to TeleFile.
Dial 1-877-317-5639. This is a toll free call. 

DO NOT MAIL YOUR TELEFILE WORKSHEET - KEEP IT FOR YOUR RECORDS
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ST-36 (Multiple Jurisdiction Form Type). The following example illustrates how sales tax information is reported using an 
electronic version of the ST-36. The steps below provide instructions for the first jurisdiction (Lawrence). Since the furniture 
store must collect the state and local sales tax based on the “destination” of the furniture (where the customer takes delivery), 
it will repeat Steps 1-8 for each of the four sales tax jurisdictions during this filing period. The ST-36 is also used to report sales 
for a business with multiple locations, following the same steps to report each jurisdiction where sales are made. 

All-American Furniture Company of Lawrence, Kansas is registered with KDOR to collect and remit its Kansas 
retailers’ sales tax on a prepaid monthly basis. The estimated tax amount paid for July with its June return was 
$3,200.00. During July, All-American Furniture Company has gross sales of $100,000, consisting of: 

1) $25,000 of over-the-counter sales in which their customers took possession of the items in Lawrence,
including a $5,000 sale to a qualified religious organization.

2) $30,000 of sales delivered to customers within the city limits of Lawrence.
3) $15,000 of sales delivered to customers outside the city limits of Lawrence, but within Douglas County.
4) $20,000 of sales delivered to customers within the city limits of Eudora.
5) $10,000 of sales delivered to customers within the city limits of De Soto (Johnson County).

Go to webtax.org to begin the filing process. Click 
Use WebTax  Now. If you are a first time user click 
Register Now; if already registered, click Sign In. 

Enter under Gross Sales, the gross receipts (taxable 
and nontaxable) for the month in each local jurisdiction. 
For example, the total gross sales “sourced” to 
Lawrence is $25,000 + $30,000 = $55,000. 

After signing into WebTax, click Business Accounts. 
Then click Add Account to this Login and follow the 
instructions to add your tax account. After account 
appears, click on Manage Account and your account 
screen will appear. Click Save. NOTE: Once you have 
added your account, it will be retained in the system 
for future filing periods. 

Enter under Merchandise Consumed By You the cost 
of the goods consumed at each location upon which 
no sales tax has been paid, explained on page 21. 
There were no transactions of this type during July, 
so this column will be blank. 

Enter under (Non-Utility) Deductions the total 
deductions (nontaxable and exempt sales) for each 
jurisdiction. For example, the deduction for Lawrence 
is $5,000, the exempt sale to the religious 
organization picked up in Lawrence. Click Calculate 
and verify the net tax amounts, then click Continue. 

Click File a Return. An informational page will appear 
with messages regarding important updates and/or 
tips for using the system. Please take the time to read 
this information before clicking Continue at the bottom 
of the page. 

Review the information for the account you added. 
From the drop-down menu options, select your filing 
period, July, and the tax year, then click the radio button 
for the return type. In this example, select Original. 
You may choose to have WebTax remember your 
jurisdictions by clicking that radio button, or you have 
the option to upload from another file or enter them 
manually. Make your selection and click Continue. 

Complete Part II. Itemize by category the deductions 
for all business locations on the applicable line. For 
this example, enter $5,000 on line h for Lawrence. 
Note: Line O of Part II should equal the total of (Non-
Utility) Deductions from Part III. Click Calculate and 
Continue. 

Verify information entered in Part I. If correct, click 
Calculate and Continue. To add the applicable jurisdictions to this filing period, 

click Add Jurisdictions. Enter the jurisdiction code 
or the jurisdiction name, then click Lookup 
Jurisdiction. From the list, choose the appropriate 
jurisdiction (for this example, Lawrence is LAWDG) 
and click Add Selected. Repeat this step until all 
applicable jurisdictions have been added, then click 
Continue. 

Select your payment option:  ACH Debit, ACH Credit, 
or Check w/Voucher. For definitions of the ACH Credit 
and ACH Debit payment options, see page 18. Click 
Continue for the verification screen. Verify all entries 
and click Submit Return. 
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COMPENSATING 
USE TAX 

consumers’ use tax obligation until they are audited by the 
Kansas Department of Revenue — a costly oversight. As a 
business, you owe use tax as the final consumer of the 
equipment, fixtures, tools, and other taxable non-inventory 
items purchased from vendors located outside of Kansas. 

You order garment racks shipped from a firm 
in St. Louis for your Salina clothing store. 
The St. Louis retailer cannot legally charge 
you Missouri sales tax because the racks are 

being shipped across the state line. If the retailer does not 
collect Kansas Retailers’ Use Tax, you must pay the Kansas 
Consumers’ Use Tax on the total cost of the garment racks. 
Had you ordered the racks from a Kansas retailer shipped 
to you in Salina, the Kansas retailer would have charged 
you the total Salina tax on them as well. 

A Dodge City CPA orders software from 
Minneapolis, Minnesota. The CPA will owe 
Kansas consumers’ use tax at the rate in 
effect in Dodge City on the cost of the 

software, including shipping and handling, if the Minnesota 
retailer does not charge Kansas retailers’ compensating 
use tax on the order. 

Linda needs to replace the mixer in her 
Anytown, Kansas bakery which imposes a 
7.3% sales/use tax rate. She orders one from 
Tulsa and saves an additional 10 percent by 

picking it up in Tulsa. She is charged the cost of the mixer, 
less her discount, plus Oklahoma sales tax of 5 percent. 
Upon returning to Kansas, she owes Kansas consumers’ 
use tax of 7.3%. She is allowed a credit of the 5 percent 
she paid to Oklahoma - leaving a net 2.3% consumers’ use 
tax due to Kansas. 

Use Tax on Non-Business Purchases 

Individual Kansas consumers buying goods in other 
states or through catalogs, mail-order companies, over the 
Internet, or from TV, magazine, and newspaper ads must 
pay Kansas consumers’ use tax on these purchases if the 
seller does not charge the Kansas retailers’ use tax 
percentage for the consumer’s location. The following 
examples illustrate typical purchases on which Kansas 
residents owe consumers’ use tax to the Kansas
Department of Revenue. 

Evelyn buys china from the manufacturer’s 
website. It is shipped to her Anycity, Kansas 
address and sales tax is not charged on the 
order. She owes 9 percent Kansas state and 

local use tax in effect in Anycity on the total cost of the 
china (which includes shipping and handling). 

While on vacation in Colorado, Don buys a 
camera for $300 plus 6 percent Colorado sales 
tax. Upon returning to his home in 
Sampletown, Kansas, where the tax rate is 

8.8%, Don owes Kansas use tax of 2.8% or $8.4 (8.8% ­
6% = 2.8% X $300 = $8.40). Had he bought the camera in 
an area of Colorado where the sales tax is 9.5%, Kansas 
use tax would not be due since the state and local tax rate 
paid in the other state is equal to or greater than the state 
and local rate in Topeka, Kansas. 

Since 1937, Kansas has imposed a use tax on goods 
purchased by Kansans (individuals and businesses) from 
outside Kansas and used, stored, or consumed in Kansas 
on which no sales tax was paid, or a sales tax less than the 
Kansas rate was paid. The purpose of this tax is to protect 
Kansas businesses from unfair competition from out-of­
state retailers who sell goods tax-free. It also ensures 
fairness to Kansans who purchase similar items in Kansas 
and pay sales tax on them. There are two types of 
compensating use tax: 

CONSUMERS’  USE TAX — paid by Kansas consumers 
direct to KDOR (Kansas Department of Revenue). 

RETAILERS’  USE TAX — collected by retailers in other 
states from their Kansas customers. 

All the states that have a general sales tax also have the 
companion use tax. Items purchased in or from Alaska, 
Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire, and Oregon are 
automatically subject to use tax since these five states do 
not have either a general sales or a use tax. (For example, 
Montana applies a sales tax to only a few selected 
transactions). 

Use tax is due on out-of-state purchases whether the 
property is shipped into Kansas or picked up in another 
state and brought back to Kansas. It applies only to tangible 
personal property — labor services are not subject to use 
tax. Like sales tax, compensating use tax is based on the 
total cost of the goods purchased, including postage, 
shipping, handling, or transportation charges. 

Like instate sales tax transactions, the Compensating 
Use Tax rate imposed is the same rate as the sales tax rate 
in effect where the customer takes delivery or possession, 
according to the same “sourcing” rules discussed herein. 
The net effect is that for both sales and compensating use 
tax - the same rate of tax applies to a taxable item purchased 
by a Kansas consumer, whether purchased locally, delivered 
to the Kansas consumer by a Kansas retailer, or shipped 
by an out-of-state retailer. 

CONSUMERS’ COMPENSATING USE TAX
 

Consumer’s Compensating Use Tax is due when Kansas 
residents buy goods or merchandise for their use or 
consumption in Kansas from vendors in other states on 
which a state and local sales tax rate equal to that of the 
Kansas buyer has not been paid. When a taxable item is 
purchased in Kansas, then state and local sales  tax is due; 
when that taxable item is purchased outside Kansas for 
use in Kansas (not resale), state and local use  tax is due. If 
the state and local sales tax paid in another state is less 
than the total tax rate at Kansas buyer’s location, only the 
difference is due to Kansas. 

Use Tax and Your Business 

Many Kansas businesses are not aware of their 
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  SAMPLE COMPLETED CT-10U FILING
 

The following example illustrates how to correctly report
use tax on a CT-10U form type. Note that this example is
for illustration purposes only and may not contain 
current tax rates. 

While in Pennsylvania, Fred buys new shirts. 
Although Pennsylvania has a state sales tax 
of 6%, most items of clothing are not subject 
to sales tax in Pennsylvania. As an Olathe, 

Kansas resident, Fred owes 9.225% state and local Kansas 
consumers’ use tax on these items since they would be 
subject to sales tax had they been purchased in Kansas. 

REPORTING AND PAYING CONSUMERS’ USE TAX
 

One-Time Purchase 

To report and pay the use tax on a one-time purchase, 
complete a Consumers’ Use Tax Return (CT-10U). See page 
18 for filing options, then visit our electronic services website 
at webtax.org to get started. Since you are reporting tax 
on a single purchase, and are not registered with the 
Kansas Department of Revenue to report consumer’s use 
tax, enter your Social Security number in the Tax account 
number box. The example below explains how to complete 
the financial information. 

NOTE: Individuals have the option to pay their consumers’ use 
tax on their Kansas individual income tax return (K-40). 

Periodic Purchases – Permanent Registration 

Businesses who regularly make purchases of materials,
supplies, tools and equipment from out-of-state retailers
should register for a consumers’ use tax reporting number.
To obtain a reporting number, complete a Business Tax
Application (CR-16). It is the same form used to apply for
Kansas sales tax numbers. See How to Register herein. 

When your application is processed, the Kansas
Department of Revenue will assign a consumers’ use tax
reporting number.  This number follows the same format as
a sales tax number except that the tax-type prefix is “006.”
For example: 006-482345678F-01. 

Like sales tax, how often you will report and pay your
use tax (monthly, quarterly, or annually) depends on an
estimate of the annual amount of use tax due entered on 
the application, according to the chart on page 18. 

John Diamond owns a jewelry store in Liberal, Kansas. In July he ordered display cases from Tulsa shipped to 
his Liberal address; no sales tax was charged on the invoice amount of $1,575 plus $80 shipping. On a buying 
trip to Colorado in September, he purchased a new computer printer for $450 plus 6 percent Colorado state 
and local sales tax. Had Mr. Diamond made similar purchases for other store locations in Garden City and 

Ulysses, he would report them according to each of those jurisdictions. 

Go to webtax.org to begin the filing process. Click 
Use WebTax Now. If you are a first time user click 
Register Now; if already registered, click Sign In.
 

From the list, choose the jurisdiction – Liberal/
Seward, LIBSW for this example. Click Add
Selected. (Note: To add additional jurisdictions, 
repeat this step.)
 

After signing into WebTax, click Business Accounts 
to the left of the page. Then click Add Account to 
this Login and follow the instructions to add your 
tax account.  After account appears, click on Manage 
Account and your account screen will appear.  Click 
Save. NOTE: Once you have added your account, 
it will be retained in the system for future filing periods. 

Click Continue. Enter under Total Taxable the total 
cost of out-of-state purchases subject to Kansas Use 
Tax (non-inventory items on which the tax paid is less 
than the rate for your area). For this example enter 
$2,105. $1,655 + $450. 

Enter under Tax Paid in Another State, the amount 
of sales tax paid to another state for purchases. For 
this example enter $27.00 for Colorado state and local 
tax on the printer. Click Calculate and Continue. 

Click File a Return. An informational page will appear 
with messages regarding important updates and/or 
tips for using the system. Please take the time to 
read this information before clicking Continue at the 
bottom of the page. Verify information shown in Part I. If correct, click 

Calculate and Continue. 
To begin filing your return, click Filing Period and 
Continue to enter information for Part II. Select your payment option:  ACH Debit, ACH Credit, 

or Check w/Voucher. For definitions of the ACH Credit 
and ACH Debit payment options, see page 18. Click 
Continue for the verification screen. Verify all entries 
and click Submit Return. 

To add the applicable jurisdictions to your filing period, 
click Add Jurisdictions. Enter the jurisdiction code 
or jurisdiction name, then click Lookup Jurisdiction. 

25 

https://www.kdor.org/TaxCenter/login.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2fTaxCenter%2fSecure%2fDefault.aspx
http://ksrevenue.org/forms-btreg.html
https://www.kdor.org/TaxCenter/login.aspx?ReturnUrl=%2fTaxCenter%2fSecure%2fDefault.aspx


RETAILERS’ COMPENSATING USE TAX
 

The Kansas Retailers’ Compensating Use Tax is collected 
by retailers  in  other  states that sell tangible personal property 
to Kansas consumers. Out-of-state retailers are required 
to register and collect the Retailers’ Compensating Use 
Tax from their Kansas customers if they have established 
a physical presence or “nexus” in Kansas. 

What is Nexus? 

Nexus is defined as a “means of connection” or a “link.” 
What constitutes nexus varies from situation to situation. 
However some areas the Kansas Department of Revenue 
looks for are: 

• Business location in Kansas, including an office.
• The presence of sales or service representatives.
• Operation of mobile stores in Kansas
 

(example: trucks with a driver salesperson).
 
• Stocking inventory in a Kansas warehouse or on

consignment.
• Providing tangible personal property for lease or

rental in Kansas.
• Delivering merchandise to Kansas customers

using company vehicles or contract carriers, other
than interstate common carriers.

• Providing or contracting for installation,
construction, repair, or other services in Kansas
(such as maintenance contracts – a Retailers’
Sales Tax registration is required).

If you are a retailer in another state, and any of the 
above describes your business activity (or that of your 
agents) in Kansas, you are required to register and collect 
the appropriate state and local Retailers’ Sales or 
Compensating Use Tax from your Kansas customers. 

A Wichita, KS resident orders a personal 
computer from a Wisconsin retailer and it is 
shipped to him from their warehouse in St. 
Louis. The Wisconsin retailer also maintains 

an outlet in Kansas. This out-of-state retailer is required to 
register with the Kansas Department of Revenue to collect 
the state and local Kansas Retailers’ Use Tax in effect in 
Wichita. 

A Hays, KS resident orders furniture from a 
Nebraska retailer. The retailer delivers the 
furniture to her home in Kansas using its own 
delivery truck. This Nebraska retailer is 

required to register with the Kansas Department of
Revenue to collect the state and local Kansas Retailers’ 
Use tax in effect for the city of Hays, since the delivery of 
the furniture into Kansas with a company vehicle has 
established nexus. 

Application of Local Use Tax 

Local use tax applies to all sales of tangible personal 
property that are subject to the retailers’ compensating use 
tax, according to the same “sourcing rules” used for retailers’ 
sales and consumers’ use taxes that are discussed on page 

13. The local tax that will apply is based on the destination of 
the goods, most generally identified by the delivery address 
of the customer, as illustrated by the two previous examples. 

Establishing Nexus in Another State 

If you are a Kansas retailer, and any of the “nexus” 
activities in the opposite column describe your business in 
another state, contact that state to register to collect the 
sales or use tax from your customers in those states. (For 
more information on registering in another state, see 
Midwest Border States Compact herein.) 

If you do not have a physical presence (nexus) in Kansas, 
you are not required to collect and remit the Kansas Retailers’ 
Compensating Use Tax.  Your Kansas customers will owe 
the state and local Consumers’ Compensating Use Tax direct 
to the Kansas Department of Revenue on purchases from 
your company. However, as a convenience to your Kansas 
customers, it is beneficial to register voluntarily. 

A Kansas resident orders food products from 
a California retailer’s web site. Delivery is by 
common carrier (USPS, FedEx, UPS, or 
freight line). Although the California food 

products retailer may register with the Kansas Department 
of Revenue to collect Kansas Retailers’ Compensating Use 
Tax as a convenience to its Kansas customers, the California 
retailer is not legally required to do so because it does not 
have a physical presence in Kansas. 

RECIPROCAL DISCOUNTS
 

In order to effectively administer and enforce use tax 
law and collect the use tax due, Kansas law allows the 
Secretary of Revenue to enter into reciprocal agreements 
with other states. the Kansas Department of Revenue
currently has agreements with three of its bordering states 
— Missouri, Nebraska and Oklahoma. The reciprocal 
agreement provides discounts to offset the cost of collecting 
and reporting another state’s tax. Retailers in these states 
that collect the Kansas Retailers’ Use Tax are eligible to 
receive a discount on the tax collected. Likewise, Kansas 
retailers who are registered in these states are allowed the 
same discount for collecting that state’s use tax. No 
discounts are allowed on late returns, and late charges are 
added to the full amount of the tax due. 

The Kansas discounts currently in effect are: Missouri 
at 2 percent; Nebraska at 2.5% up to the first $3,000 in tax 
remitted per month for maximum discount of $75 and 
Oklahoma at 1 percent with their total discount limited to 
$2,500. 

REPORTING AND PAYING RETAILERS’ USE TAX
 

Out-of-state retailers that sell tangible personal property 
to Kansas consumers must register with the Kansas 
Department of Revenue by completing a Kansas Business 
Tax Application (CR-16). It is the same form used to apply 
for a Kansas sales and/or withholding tax numbers. See 
How to Register on page 10. Once your application is 
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processed, you are assigned a retailers’ compensating 
use tax account number. This number follows the same 
format as a sales tax number except that the tax type prefix 
for retailers compensating use tax is “005.” For example: 
005-331234567F-01. 

Like Sales Tax, how often you will report and pay your 
retailers’ compensating use tax (monthly, quarterly, or 
annually) depends on an estimate of the annual amount of 
use tax due entered on the application, according to the 
chart on page 17. To report and pay the use tax, complete 

a CT-9U, Retailers’ Compensating Use Tax. See page 18 
for filing options, then visit webtax.org to get started. 

SAMPLE COMPLETED CT-9U FILING

Completing a Retailers’ Compensating Use Tax form is 
similar to completing a form type ST-36 for sales tax; the 
major difference is the application of reciprocal discounts. 
This example illustrates how to file a CT-9U for an out-of­
state retailer that qualifies for a reciprocal discount because 
of its location in Missouri. 

ZZ Catalog Company in St. Louis, Missouri has a retail store in Overland Park. In addition to its Retailers’ Sales 
tax registration in Overland Park, the company is registered to collect the state and local Kansas Retailers’ 
Compensating Use tax on catalog sales to its Kansas customers. A breakdown of its Kansas catalog sales in 
August by Kansas tax jurisdiction is shown below: 

KANSAS GROSS SALES DEDUCTIONS (Sales for Resale) 
Wichita $2,000.00 $200.00
 
Andover $1,000.00 $150.00
 
Dodge City $1,000.00 $100.00
 
Sedgwick Co. $3,254.75 $500.00
 

Go to webtax.org to begin the filing process. Click click Add Selected. Repeat this step until all 
Use WebTax  Now. If you are a first time user click applicable jurisdictions have been added, then click 
Register Now; if already registered, click Sign In. Continue. 

After signing into WebTax, click Business Accounts. Under Kansas Gross Sales enter the gross receipts 
Then click Add Account to this Login and follow for the month. For example, the total gross sales 
the instructions to add your tax account. After “sourced” to Wichita is $2,000. Continue adding the 
account appears, click on Manage Account and gross receipt amount for each jurisdiction. 
your account screen will appear. Click Save. NOTE: 
Once you have added your account, it will be retained Enter under Deductions the amount of sales for 
in the system for future filing periods. resale for each jurisdiction. For example, Wichita is 

$200. 
Click File a Return. An informational page will 

Enter under State Code the two character appear with messages regarding important updates 
abbreviation for the state in which you receive a and/or tips for using the system. Please take the 
discount. For example, Missouri is MO. Continue this time to read this information before clicking 
step for each jurisdiction. Click Calculate and verify Continue at the bottom of the page. the net tax amounts, then click Continue. 

Review the information for the account you added. Complete Part II. Record the deductions for non-taxes 
From the drop-down menu options, select your filing sales for the period by category of deduction. For 
period, August, and tax year, 2013, then click the this example, enter $950.00 on line A. Note: Total 
radio button for the return type. In this example, Deductions, Line L of Part II, should equal the total 
select Original. You may choose to have WebTax deductions reported in Deductions, Part III of the 
remember your jurisdictions by clicking that radio return. Click Calculate and Continue. 
button, or you have the option to upload from another 
file or enter them manually. Make your selection and Verify information entered in Part I. If correct, click 
click Continue. Calculate and Continue. 

To add the applicable jurisdictions to this filing period, Select your payment option: ACH Debit, ACH Credit, 
click Add Jurisdictions. Enter the jurisdiction code or Check w/Voucher. For definitions of the ACH 
or the jurisdiction name, then click Lookup Credit and ACH Debit payment options, see page 
Jurisdiction. From the list, choose the appropriate 18. Click Continue for the verification screen. Verify 
jurisdiction (for example, Wichita is WICSG) and all entries and click Submit Return. 
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MIDWEST BORDER STATES COMPACT

The Midwest Border States Compact is composed of 
these eight states: 

Illinois Minnesota North Dakota 
Iowa Missouri South Dakota 

Kansas Nebraska 

These states have been working together to eliminate 
unfair competition and increase compliance by informing 
consumers about their use tax duties, and seeking voluntary 
registration from out-of-state businesses. State governments 
are becoming more aggressive in searching out taxpayers 
that may owe outstanding tax liabilities. These states 
exchange information and cooperate in enforcement efforts. 

In recent years, the number of companies engaging in 
multistate commerce has multiplied, yet many of these 
companies are not registered and are not paying taxes to 
states in which they do business. Millions of dollars in state 
tax revenues are lost when goods are purchased from out­
of-state merchants not collecting and remitting use tax. In 
order to protect you and your customers, the Midwest 
Border States suggests that you voluntarily register to collect 
sales or use tax. 

Why Should I Register In Another State? 

If you have a business presence or “nexus” (see page 
26) for tax purposes in another state, or are performing
taxable services, installation, construction or repairs in 
another state, you may be required to register in that state. 

Even if you do not have nexus, your registration will 
prevent the inconvenience of having your customers 
contacted directly by state tax authorities seeking to collect 
use tax. Consumers are responsible for remitting use tax 
on purchases bought from unregistered out-of-state vendors. 
The states have authority to bill consumers for the unpaid 
use tax plus penalty and interest. 

If you have no sales in a state, you do not need to 
register in that state. However, once you begin making sales 
to customers in another state you need to apply for a license 
if you have established nexus within that state. Visit the 
websites of the states listed above for forms, assistance in 
registration, and filing requirements. 

Will registration automatically subject me to other 
taxes? 
No. However, if you should have been paying other 
taxes, you will still be expected to pay those taxes. 

Will registration automatically subject me to past use 
taxes? 
No. Registration alone does not subject you to liability 
for failure to collect past sales or use taxes. Liability 
depends on whether or not you had nexus with the 
state in question prior to registration and the laws 
and policies of each state. 

ADDITIONAL 
INFORMATION 

IMPORTANT REMINDERS
 

Filing Your Returns 

You must file an electronic return for each reporting 
period (prepaid monthly, monthly, quarterly, or annually) 
even if no sales or taxable purchases were made during
the period.  Failure to file will result in a notice from the 
Kansas Department of Revenue causing you additional time 
and effort. 

James has a woodworking hobby and reports 
his sales tax quarterly. Due to an illness, he 
did not make any retail sales during the 2nd 
quarter. He must still file for that 2nd quarter. 

James will just enter “0” on the Gross Sales line. 

Annual Sales and Use Tax zero filers: You may use your 
touch-tone telephone to file your annual multi-jurisdiction 
tax returns if you are reporting zero sales. Like TeleFile, 
you will need your access code to complete your filing 
(see page 18). 

Corresponding with the Kansas Department of 
Revenue 

The following information should be included on all 
correspondence sent to the Kansas Department of Revenue. 
Please allow four to six weeks for a reply and/or resolution 
of a problem. 

• Your business name and address
• Your sales or use tax account number
• The owner’s name or contact person
• A telephone number where the owner/contact may

be reached during normal business hours

REPORTING BUSINESS CHANGES
 

When changes occur in your business, promptly notify 
the Kansas Department of Revenue (see Taxpayer 
Assistance on the back cover). For faster service, please 
have your tax account number available when calling our 
office. 

Business Name and/or Address Change 

You may report business name or address changes to 
us by mail or fax, using company letterhead or by completing 
our Name or Address Change form (DO-5). This form is 
available on our website. 

Change of Business Location 

When you move your business from one local taxing 
jurisdiction to another, the Kansas Department of Revenue 
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must adjust its records so that the tax is credited to the 
appropriate county and/or city. Include, in your 
correspondence, the following information about your new 
business location. 

• Exact physical address and zip code
• City and county if the new location is inside the city

limits of an incorporated city
• Effective date of relocation

Adding a Business Location 

When you are expanding your business by adding 
location(s), you need not complete a new Business Tax 
Application. Instead, complete a CR-17, Registration 
Schedule for Additional Business Locations, to register each 
additional location. This form is available from our website. 
You will report all sales for the new or additional location(s) 
under your current sales tax account number when filing 
your ST-36 form type. 

Change of Partners 

If less than 50 percent of the ownership (measured by 
interests in capital and profits) of a partnership changes, 
complete an Ownership Change form (CR-18), available 
on our website. As an alternative, you may mail or fax a 
new list of partners to our office. Include the full name, 
address, telephone and Social Security number of each 
partner, the tax account numbers and the effective date of 
the change. 

A partnership must apply for a new registration when 50 
percent or more of the ownership changes hands within a 
12-month period, or the partnership is dissolved and a new 
one is started. See instructions that follow. 

Change of Business Ownership 

When the ownership of the business changes, a new 
registration is usually required. The following examples of 
ownership change requires new registration. 

• An individual ownership to a partnership or
 
corporation.
 

• Partnership to a corporation or sole proprietorship
• One corporation to another corporation.
• Any change in corporate structure that requires a

new charter, certificate of authority, or new EIN.

If you must apply for a new registration number, you will 
also need to cancel your old registration. 

Canceling Your Registration 

You must cancel your Kansas sales and/or compensating 
use tax registration if you sell or close the business or 
change the ownership structure of the business.  To cancel 
your registration, complete the Discontinuation of Business 
section at the bottom of your registration certificate and 
send it to the Kansas Department of Revenue by mail or fax 
(see Taxpayer Assistance on the back cover). 

Change of Corporate Officers or Directors 

When there is a change in your corporate officers or 
directors, complete and return an Ownership and Signature 

Form (CR-18), and also provide the name(s) and title(s) of 
the resigning officer(s) or director(s). If you prefer you 
may mail or fax us a letter on your corporate letterhead 
listing the name, title, home address and Social Security 
number of each new corporate officer or director, the name 
and title of each officer of director resigning, and the 
effective date of the change. A copy of the corporate 
minutes is also helpful, but is not required. 

Changing Your Filing Frequency 

Once a filing frequency (monthly, quarterly, annually) 
has been established for a calendar year, do not increase 
or decrease the filing frequency of your sales and/or 
compensating use tax. Our electronic filing applications are 
set up for the filing frequency established, and filing less 
frequently will cause non-filer bills to be printed. 

Each year the Kansas Department of Revenue reviews 
the reporting history of Kansas retailers to ensure their 
filing frequency is in accordance with the statutory guidelines 
illustrated by the chart on page 18. The review is done late 
in the calendar year so that any necessary change will 
take effect on January 1 of the upcoming year.  A notice of 
filing status change is mailed to the affected retailers in 
November. 

We realize, however, errors can occur in assigning a 
filing frequency to new businesses, or a business can 
change extensively over a calendar year, causing the returns 
to be due either too often or not often enough. If you believe 
your filing frequency is out of line with the guidelines, call 
us to request that it be changed. 

CORRECTING A  RETURN
 

As provided by K.S.A 79-3609(b) no refund or credit 
shall be allowed by the director for a return filed more than 
three years from the due date of the return for the reporting 
period. 

If you discover you made an error on a return, you can 
correct it by filing an amended or corrected return. 
Generally, you have one year from the date you filed the 
original return to file an amended return for that period. 
The following are some common errors to correct by filing 
an amended return. 

• Tax was included in the gross sales figure used to
calculate your tax liability.

• Mistakes in accounting caused an error in
reporting the gross sales or taxable purchases for
a period.

• Tax was charged on items in error, or deductions
for nontaxable and exempt items were not taken. 

Amending Electronically 

To correct errors on previously-filed returns, file an 
amended return for each affected period. To amend a 
previously-filed return using the WebFile application, select 
the amended (or additional) return option rather than the 
original return option. The same applies for retailers that 
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used the TeleFile system to file an original return. When 
you are filing an amended return, you will be asked to 
enter the total amount previously paid for the filing period 
as a credit (i.e., line 6 of the TeleFile worksheet). 

Amended vs. Additional Returns 

In addition to amending returns, retailers have the option 
to file an additional return for any filing period. An additional 
return adds to what has already been reported on the 
original return. For example, if a retailer files an “original” 
return reporting $100 and then files an additional return 
for the same reporting period for $50, the Kansas 
Department of Revenue will understand the total tax for the 
period to be $150. 

An amended return erases everything that was reported 
on the original return and substitutes the new information 
contained on the amended return. For example, if a retailer 
files an amended return reporting $150, when $100 was 
reported on the original return, then the Kansas Department 
of Revenue will understand the total tax for the period to be 
$150. 

Once you have completed the corrected returns, you 
will have either an overpayment (credit) or an underpayment 
(additional tax is due). 

Underpayments 

Payment of any additional tax shown on an amended 
return must be made when the return is filed. Late charges 
are added to any underpayment after the original due date, 
according to the penalty and interest rules outlined herein. 

OBTAINING A SALES TAX REFUND
 

If, as the final consumer, you discover that you have 
paid tax on an item or service that qualifies for an exemption, 
you may request a refund of the sales tax paid. You should 
first request a sales tax refund or credit from your vendor 
in writing, providing the information necessary to validate 
your request for refund, such as a completed exemption 
certificate. The seller is allowed 60 days to respond. [K.S.A. 
79-3650(b)] 

However, when a vendor refuses to refund the tax, or is 
no longer in business, you may apply directly to the Kansas 
Department of Revenue for your refund. Use Form ST-21, 
available on our website. You must include proof that you 
paid both the invoice and the sales tax, the completed 
exemption certificate, and evidence that a refund was NOT 
received from the vendor.  Please allow four to six weeks 
for a reply and/or refund. 

WHEN RETURNS ARE LATE
 

Sales and retailers’ compensating use tax are often 
referred to as “trust fund” taxes. As a registered retailer 
you collect the tax from your customers and then hold it in 
“trust” until it is remitted to the Kansas Department of 
Revenue. These consumer-paid taxes are not an expense 
of your business. It is your responsibility to file returns and 
pay the tax timely. When the returns are late, the penalty 

and interest (late charges) are a business debt that 
decreases your profit margin. Penalty and interest are 
figured as a percentage of the tax due. Returns filed on 
time without payment of tax have the same penalties as 
returns filed late. 

If you are filing a return after the due date, penalty and 
interest will be applied using the rates that follow.  The TeleFile 
and WebFile systems automatically calculate any late 
charges due. 

Penalty 

The penalty on a late sales or use tax payment is 1 
percent for each month or portion thereof that the payment 
is late, up to a maximum of 24 percent. 

A January 2014 sales tax return (due 
February 25, 2014) upon which $400 tax is 
due, is not paid until July 28, 2014 The penalty 
is 6 percent of the unpaid tax or $24 (6 months 

X 1% X $400 = $24). The interest calculation for this 
example is shown in the next column. 

A penalty of 50 percent may be assessed when, 
with fraudulent intent, a taxpayer fails to pay any 
tax, or make, render or sign any return, or to supply 
any information within the time required by law. 

Interest 

In addition to the late penalty, interest is charged for 
each month, or fraction thereof, that the return is not filed 
or the tax not paid. Since 1998 the annual percentage rate 
(APR) for interest has been has been tied to a federal 
underpayment rate, and is therefore subject to change each 
calendar year. The following list provides the rates for the 
current year and some previous years. Interest rates for 
years not shown here can be found on the Kansas 
Department of Revenue’s website. 

Year Monthly Rate APR 
2015 0.333% 4% 
2014 0.333% 4% 
2013 0.333% 4% 
2012 0.417% 5% 
2011 0.417% 5% 
2010 0.417% 5% 
2009 0.500% 6% 
2008 0.750% 9% 

The interest on the January 2014 sales tax 
return of $400 not paid until July 28, 2014 is 
calculated as follows. Six months X 2014 
interest rate of .333% X $400 tax due = the 

interest due of $8.00. 

Returned Check Fee 

A fee of $30 (plus postage costs for a registered letter) 
is charged on all returned checks. This fee is in addition to 
any other penalty or interest. 

Waiver of Penalty 

If your return is late due to an event beyond your control, 
you may request a waiver of the penalty. Simply write a 
letter giving the specific circumstance(s) that caused the 
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delinquency and request that the penalty be abated. Be 
sure to include in your letter your tax account number, the 
filing period, and a telephone number where you may be 
reached during normal business hours. Send your request 
with the billing that you received for the late charges. 

IMPORTANT:  The interest due must be paid 
before a request for waiver of penalty may be 

considered or approved. Interest is not subject to waiver. 

PERSONAL LIABILITY FOR UNPAID TAXES
 

Every retailer is liable to the state of Kansas for payment 
of the sales and/or compensating use tax collected from its 
customers. You are personally liable for any unpaid sales 
and/or compensating use tax balance regardless of your 
business structure (sole proprietorship, partnership, 
corporation, or limited liability company). Corporate officers 
and directors of a corporation, like sole proprietors and 
partners, are personally liable for the sales and use tax due 
during the period they hold office. 

Should a business fail to pay its taxes, any individual 
who is responsible for collection or payment of sales or 
compensating tax, or who is responsible for control, receipt, 
custody, or disposal of sales and use tax funds due the 
state of Kansas may be held personally liable for any unpaid 
tax, penalty, and/or interest. 

Buying a Business — The Bulk Sales Law 

If you buy an existing business, make sure you receive 
documentation from the current owner that all applicable 
taxes have been reported and paid through the date of 
transfer. When you buy the total assets of a business, you 
are also buying its liabilities. Therefore, if the previous owner 
has not paid all applicable taxes, you, as the new owner, 
become responsible for payment of these debts. 

ABOUT OUR BILLING PROCESS
 

The majority of the billing functions of the Kansas 
Department of Revenue are computerized. A bill is 
automatically generated when our tax system detects a 
deficiency or change in status on your account. A deficiency 
may be a balance due or a missing return; a change in 
status is generally resolution of a previously disputed amount. 

You will, therefore, receive a bill even when your account 
balance is zero. This is because a review of your account 
indicates we have not received a sales or use tax return for 
one or more reporting periods. The account summary that 
accompanies the bill shows all deficient periods. If a return 
is missing, a “Y” appears in the column marked “Returns to 
be Filed” for that period. 

It is imperative that you respond immediately to any 
bill or correspondence from the Kansas Department 
of Revenue. Follow the instructions on the mailing. Return 
the cover letter or the tear-off remittance document with 
your return(s) and payment of the balance due in the return 
envelope provided. If you have already paid the balance or 
filed the missing periods, send this information to us so we 
may correct our records. 

If you have questions about the billing, call the telephone 
number at the top of the bill. For prompt account inquiries, 
please have your tax account number and bill handy.  The 
customer representatives in our office may also assist you 
in understanding and responding to a bill or the Kansas 
Department of Revenue correspondence. 

BOND REQUIREMENTS
 

  There is no fee for a sales tax or use tax number, 
however, the Kansas Department of Revenue may require 
you to post a bond to guarantee payment of the retailers’ 
sales or retailers’ compensating use taxes that you collect. 
Bonds are not requested for consumers’ compensating use 
tax accounts. Bonds are required for liquor tax registrations. 

When required, the amount of the bond is set by the 
Director of Taxation. As a general rule the bond is equal to 
six months’ estimated tax liability.  Exception: Nonresident 
contractors must post a bond if the contract is over 
$10,000. The bond is 8 percent of the total contract price 
or $1,000, whichever is greater. If working under a Project 
Exemption, the required bond amount is 4 percent of the 
total contract price or $1,000, whichever is greater. 

You may post a bond in one of these three ways: 

Cash bond. The full amount of the bond is deposited in 
certified funds with the department. It is held by the 
department until released or the business closes. Interest 
is not paid on the deposit. 

Escrow  bond.  You may deposit the full amount of the bond 
with a financial institution (usually as a Certificate of 
Deposit) pledged to the Kansas Department of Revenue. 
The CD may be released only with the Kansas
Department of Revenue’s approval, however your deposit 
will earn interest. 

Surety  bond.  A surety bond is purchased from an insurance 
company.  This is an insurance policy in the amount of 
the bond, payable to the Kansas Department of Revenue 
should sales tax not be paid. A surety bond is kept in 
force by a fee, usually paid annually. 

AUDITS
 

Kansas law requires that the Kansas Department of 
Revenue examine all sales and use tax returns. Sales and 
use tax audits to: 

• educate taxpayers on the proper application of the
law to their particular business type,

• promote voluntary compliance with tax laws, 
• determine if the correct amount of sales and

deductions are being reported.

The Kansas Department of Revenue currently conducts 
three types of audits: field audits, managed audits, and 
self-audits. A field, or traditional, audit is a detailed 
examination of your books and records by one of our 
auditors. A managed audit is done by the business itself 
under the management and direction of a state auditor.  A 
self or voluntary audit is also done by the business itself 
without any direct intervention by a state auditor. 
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An audit generally covers the tax returns for the last 
three years. This period may be extended by written 
agreement between you and the Kansas Department of 
Revenue. 

Prior to an audit, you will be contacted by the auditor to 
schedule the examination. During the first meeting, our 
auditor will discuss the nature of your business, the 
accounting system used and other related matters. We 
make every effort to make our audits as least disruptive as 
possible of your daily business activities. 

You are encouraged to work with the auditor to resolve 
any questions (other than legal ones) about particular 
transactions. Our auditors will also help you to understand 
industry-specific laws and regulations so future tax reporting 
is less of a burden. 

WHEN IN DOUBT...

Kansas Laws and Regulations 

Rules that govern sales and use tax and define the 
responsibilities of each business owner, taxpayer, and the 
Kansas Department of Revenue  are contained in two sets 
of documents: Kansas Statutes Annotated (K.S.A.) and 
Kansas Administrative Regulations (K.A.R). 

The K.S.A. is a collection of all the statutes of the state 
of Kansas. Statutes are bills that have been passed by both 
houses of the state Legislature, and signed into law by the 
Governor, or that become law within 10 days of passage 
without the Governor’s signature. Annotated means the law 
contains commentaries and explanatory notes. K.S.A.’s are 
organized by Chapter and Article. Kansas retailers’ sales 
and use tax statutes are in Chapter 79. 

K.A.R.’s are based on the law and have the same impact 
as a law, even though they are not enacted through the 
legislative process. Instead, each state agency submits 
proposed regulations to the Secretary of Administration 
and the Attorney General for approval, and a public hearing 
is held. The regulations (with approved revisions) are then 
adopted, published in the Kansas Register, and become 
effective 45 days later.

 The purpose of most permanent regulations is to provide 
administrative solutions to common problems and situations, 
and to more clearly define how a statute applies to specific 
circumstances. Regulations are organized by state agency. 
the Kansas Department of Revenue Regulations are in 
Chapter 92. 

IMPORTANT: Each regulation is based on or 
receives its authority from a statute, and does 

not conflict with the statute. However, regulations are not 
changed at the same time statutes are changed. When a 
change in the statute causes a regulation to be in conflict 
with the statute, the statute overrides the regulation. 

Complete sets of the Kansas Statutes Annotated and 
the Kansas Administrative Regulations are available to the 
general public in libraries throughout the state. The tax 
laws and regulations are a part of our Policy Information 
Library (see next page) on our website. 

Key Statutes and Regulations 
K.S.A. 12-187 et seq. — Local Sales Tax 
K.S.A. 79-3601 et seq. — Sales Tax 
K.S.A. 79-3701 et seq. — Compensating Tax 

K.A.R. 92-19-4a — Record Keeping 
K.A.R. 92-19-25b — Exemption Certificates 
K.A.R. 92-19-53 — Consumed in Production 
K.A.R. 92-19-54 — Ingredient or Component Part 
K.A.R. 92-19-66b — Labor Services 
K.A.R. 92-20-1 et seq. — Compensating Tax 
K.A.R. 92-21-1 et seq. — Local Retailers’ Sales Tax 

Revenue Notices and Private Letter Rulings 

Despite the length and detail of the statutes and 
regulations, questions and situations frequently arise that 
require interpretation of the law. DO NOT rely upon a verbal 
opinion from the Kansas Department of Revenue on issues 
of taxability not specifically addressed in the law. To assist 
you in understanding how the law applies to your business, 
the Kansas Department of Revenue issues three types of 
written advice: revenue notices,  revenue  rulings, and 
private  letter rulings. These written materials are binding 
on the department and may be relied upon as long as the 
statute or regulation on which they are based is not altered 
by the Legislature, changed by a court decision, or the 
ruling itself is modified or rescinded by the Kansas 
Department of Revenue. 

Revenue  notices and rulings are periodically provided 
to the general public — usually in response to a change in 
the law, recent court decisions, or areas of sales tax 
application affecting a large number of taxpayers. If you 
receive notices or rulings, keep them with this publication 
for future reference. 

A private  letter  ruling, issued at the request of an 
individual taxpayer, interprets the law based on the 
circumstances of that taxpayer. Requests for private letter 
rulings must be in writing, and state specifically the 
circumstances and facts surrounding the issue. To request 
a private letter ruling, address your letter to: 

Office of Policy and Research

Kansas Department of Revenue


915 SW Harrison St.
 
Topeka, KS  66612-1588
 

Fax: (785) 296-7928
 

The ruling will be issued within 30 days after your request 
(and any additional information necessary for the ruling) 
is received. A private letter ruling applies ONLY to the 
taxpayer for whom it is issued. It cannot be cited or relied 
upon by any other taxpayer. 

Policy Information Library (PIL) 

As a service to taxpayers, a library of policy information 
for all taxes administered by the Kansas Department of 
Revenue is available on our website. The policy library 
contains Kansas Statutes and Regulations, Revenue 
Notices, Revenue Rulings and other written advice issued 
by  the Kansas Department of Revenue. Private letter rulings 
are also included but these letters have been “scrubbed” 
to protect taxpayers’ privacy – information that might identify 
the taxpayer, (i.e., name, address, etc.) is blanked out. 
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OTHER KANSAS TAXES 

Many businesses must also collect or remit other Kansas 
taxes. An alphabetical listing of other business-related taxes 
follows. Use the Business Tax Application (CR-16) to 
register for most of these tax types. Additional requirements 
are also noted. 

Bingo Enforcement. Bingo cards, paper 
and pull-tabs sold by bingo licensees are not 
subject to sales tax, but are subject instead to 
bingo enforcement tax. This tax is 3 percent
on the gross receipts received by licensees from charges 
for hard cards used in call bingo games, a tax of $.002 per 
face on all disposable paper used for call bingo games, 
and a tax of 1 percent of the retail sales price of all instant 
bingo tickets (pull-tabs). To register, contact the Kansas 
Department of Revenue’s Bingo Administrator. Phone: 785­
296-6127; fax: 785-296-7185, or email: bingo@kdor.ks.gov. 

Raffles. Charitable raffle licenses are required for any 
nonprofit religious, charitable, fraternal, educational, or 
veterans’ organization which conducts raffles and in which 
the annual (July-June) gross receipts are more than 
$25,000. The license fees range from $25 to $100, 
depending on the organization’s annual gross receipts from 
raffles. No license is required for organizations where 
annual gross receipts from raffles is $25,000 or less. An 
application to register is available on the Kansas
Department of Revenue’s website. 

Cigarette Licenses. Cigarette sales are subject to sales 
tax. However, before you may sell cigarettes in Kansas, 
you must have a cigarette license. If you sell cigarettes 
over the counter, the license fee is $25, and is renewed 
every two years. If you own cigarette vending machines, 
you must obtain a cigarette vending machine operator’s 
master license (no fee required), and also a permit ($25) 
for each machine. Enclose a list of machine brand name(s) 
and serial number(s) with the business tax application. The 
master license and vending machine permits must be 
renewed every two years. 

Clean Drinking Water Fee. This fee is imposed at the 
rate of $.03 per 1,000 gallons of water sold at retail. It is 
the liability of Public Water Supply Systems, owed to the
Kansas Department of Revenue. Public Water Supply 
Systems include municipal and county water districts, rural 
water districts, and all other public water utilities that supply 
water to consumers through mains, lines or pipes. Public 
Water Supply Systems do not include private water utilities. 
Public water suppliers that are paying the Clean Drinking 
Water Fee do not pay sales or compensating use tax on 
their purchases for the water utility. 

Corporate Income Tax. This tax is imposed 
on the taxable income of every corporation doing 
business within or deriving income from sources 
in Kansas (the income of some S corporations 
is not taxed at the corporate level, but rather is 
taxed on the shareholder’s individual income tax 
return). The current “normal” tax rate is 4 percent of the 

Kansas taxable income of a corporation with a “surtax” of 
3.05% for tax years 2009 and 2010; and decreasing to 3 
percent for tax years 2011 and thereafter, on Kansas taxable 
income over $50,000. 

Dry Cleaning Environmental Surcharge. This tax is 
collected on laundry and dry cleaning services at the rate 
of 2.5% on the gross receipts in addition to the sales tax. 
Along with this tax is a dry cleaning solvent fee paid by 
solvent distributors on each gallon of perchloroethylene, 
other chlorinated solvents, and petroleum-based solvents. 
This tax provides funding for clean up of soil and 
groundwater pollution from dry cleaning facilities. 

Estimate Income Tax. Individuals with taxable income 
not subject to withholding (i.e., business income), and 
corporations are required to prepay their income tax liability 
by making estimated tax payments. Individuals use form 
type K-40ES; corporations use a K-120ES; and privilege 
taxpayers use a K-130ES. Kansas offers several electronic 
payment solutions for these form types – visit our website 
(webtax.org) for details. 

Liquor Drink Tax. This tax is collected 
on the retail sale of drinks containing 
alcoholic liquor.  The tax rate is 10 percent. 
Clubs, caterers, and drinking establishments, (including 
farm wineries and micro-breweries selling to customersfor 
on-premises consumption), must also have a liquor license 
issued by the Kansas Department of Revenue’s Division 
of Alcoholic Beverage Control, and post a minimum bond 
of $1,000. 

Liquor Enforcement Tax. This tax is collected on the 
sale of alcoholic liquor and cereal malt beverages by a 
retail liquor store, microbrewery, or farm winery to Kansas 
consumers, or by a liquor distributor to clubs, caterers, or 
drinking establishments. The tax rate is 8 percent. A 
separate license issued by the Kansas Department of
Revenue’s Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control is 
required. 

Motor Fuel Tax. This tax is imposed on the use, 
sale or delivery of any or all “motor vehicle fuels” 
(gasoline & gasohol) or “special fuels” (diesel & 
alcohol) in this state. Tax revenues are used to 

defray the cost of constructing Kansas public highways. 

The motor fuel tax is remitted to the Kansas Department 
of Revenue by the distributor of the fuel but the tax is 
included in the price of every gallon of gasoline or diesel 
that consumers purchase at the pump. There is no motor 
fuel tax on dyed diesel fuel used only for non-highway 
purposes; this fuel is therefore subject to sales tax. The 
tax rate on “motor vehicle fuels” (gasoline/gasohol) is 24 
cents per gallon; on “special fuels” (diesel) it is 26 cents 
per gallon, and on LP gases it is 23 cents per gallon. 

Privilege Tax. This tax is imposed on national banking 
associations, banks, trust companies, federally chartered 
savings banks, and savings and loan associations for the 
privilege of doing business in Kansas. It is imposed on net 
income for the next preceding taxable year (prior tax year). 
The tax is instead of an ad valorem (property) tax that 
might have been imposed on the intangibles (deposits) held 
by financial institutions. The current tax rate is 2.25% of 
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net income, plus a surtax on net income in excess of 
$25,000 of 2.125% for banks, and 2.25% for savings and 
loans and trust companies. 

Tire Excise Tax. This tax is collected on the 
sale of new vehicle tires, including the new tires 
sold on a new vehicle for the first time. All tire 
retailers, as well as all new car, truck, farm 

implement and equipment dealers must collect this tax. The 
tire excise tax is in addition to and is separate from the 
sales tax. The tax rate is 25 cents per tire. Used, recapped, 
and retreaded tires are not taxed. 

The revenue generated by this tax is used to clean up 
waste tire sites and to provide for the continued 
environmentally safe disposal and use of waste tires. For 
additional information, obtain Pub. KS-1530, Kansas Tire 
Excise Tax, from our website. 

Transient Guest Tax. This tax is collected when rooms, 
lodgings, or other sleeping accommodations are rented to 
guests. Hotels, motels, bed and breakfast establishments, 
and tourist courts must register for the transient guest tax 
if they have more than  two bedrooms furnished to 
accommodate guests. 

Transient guest tax is collected in addition to the sales 
tax due on the room rental, and applies only when the 
room is rented for 28 consecutive days or less. However, 
like a local sales tax, transient guest tax is a local option 
and is not imposed in all areas of Kansas. Tax rates typically 
range from 2 percent to 7 percent. For additional 
information obtain a copy of Pub. KS-1540, Kansas 
Business Taxes for Hotels, Motels and Restaurants, from 
our website. 

Vehicle Rental Excise Tax. When a vehicle is leased 
or rented for 28 consecutive days or less, a vehicle rental 
excise tax of 3.5% is charged. This tax is in addition to the 
sales tax due on these transactions. Car rental agencies, 
vehicle dealers, repair shops, and others who rent cars 
must register to collect this tax. 

Water Protection Fee. This fee, at the rate of $.03 per 
1,000 gallons of water, is collected on the retail sales of 
water delivered through mains, lines or pipes by public 
water suppliers and on water appropriated for industrial 
and stock watering uses. An additional fee for the inspection 
and regulation of public water supplies of $.002 per 1,000 
gallons of water sold at retail is remitted with the Water 
Protection Fee. Public water suppliers need to register 
with the Kansas Department of Revenue and the Kansas 
Department of Health and Environment. 

Withholding Tax. This tax is deducted by employers 
from wages paid to employees to prepay the employee’s 
income tax liability. Kansas withholding tax is also required 
on certain taxable non-wage payments by payors, on 
management and consulting fees paid to nonresidents. In 
addition to being registered with the Kansas Department
of Revenue, employers must register with the Kansas 
Department of Labor and the Internal Revenue Service. 

Because of differences in the computation of the federal 
and Kansas income taxes, it is not uncommon for a taxpayer 
to receive a federal income tax refund while owing taxes to 
Kansas or vice versa. For this reason, the Kansas 

Department of Revenue has Form K-4  available and is 
encouraging employers to have employees complete it in 
addition to the federal W-4 form. 

For more information about Kansas withholding tax, 
including the tables to compute withholding, obtain a copy 
of Pub. KW-100, Kansas Withholding Tax Guide. This 
publication and the Kansas Form K-4 are available on our 
website. 

KANSAS EXEMPTION 
CERTIFICATES 

USING EXEMPTION CERTIFICATES
 

Exemption certificates are an important part of sales 
and use tax record keeping, but are often found lacking by 
our auditors. Use the information in this section to help 
you properly complete and accept exemption certificates. 
We recommend that retailers also obtain a copy of our 
Pub. KS-1520, Kansas Exemption Certificates. This 
publication contains all the exemption certificates currently 
in use and detailed information about each exemption. It is 
available on our website. 

Before accepting any certificate, carefully read the 
exemption statement and the accompanying explanation 
and instructions. Most certificates contain a restatement 
of the Kansas law (K.S.A. – Kansas Statutes Annotated), 
or regulation (K.A.R. – Kansas Administrative Regulations) 
authorizing the exemption. If your customer or the purchase 
does not fit the definition in the certificate or the exempt 
examples given, the sale is probably not exempt. 

The Kansas Exempt Entity Identification Number and 
Certificate (page 7) are designed to help retailers and 
exempt customers complete the certificate process, not to 
replace it. See NOTICE 04-10 on our website. 

Completing an Exemption Certificate 

Follow these three rules when completing any exemption 
certificate. 

1) Print or type all information, except for the
authorized signature. The information on the
certificate must be legible both to you and to our
auditors. Do not print a signature on paper forms,
although it is often helpful to print or type the name
below the signature. (A signature is not required on an
electronic exemption certificate.)

2) Fill in all the blanks. A certificate is complete only
when all the information is provided. If there is a blank
on the form, it must be filled in. Addresses must include 
the street or PO Box, city, state, and zip code.

When the certificate requires a tax registration number, 
be sure your customer provides it. An exemption
certificate is not complete unless the customer supplies 
the proper registration number(s). A seller may lawfully 
require a copy of the buyer’s sales tax certificate of
registration as a condition of honoring the Resale
Exemption Certificate (ST-28A). [K.A.R. 92-19-25b]
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3)	 Give specific descriptions. Be as precise as possible 
when describing the property or services purchased.
You may use an itemized list, refer to an itemized
invoice number, or at the very least provide a general
description of the items. When describing a business
activity, include the principal product(s) sold or
manufactured.

Blanket Exemption Certificates 

If you make recurring exempt sales of the same type to 
the same purchaser, it is not necessary to have an 
exemption certificate for each transaction. You may instead 
accept a blanket exemption certificate to cover future sales. 
Most of the certificates in this publication may be used as 
a blanket certificate. 

IMPORTANT:  When you use a blanket exemption 
certificate for your regular exempt customers, ask 

them to verify or renew this document every year. This will 
help guarantee that the exempt customer’s information (i.e., 
exact business name and location, tax account number, 
etc.) remains accurate and up-to-date. 

CAUTION: When you use blanket exemption 
certificates, you should segregate any taxable 
purchases from that vendor and pay for them 

separately. Each buyer signs the exemption certificate 
acknowledging responsibility for payment of the tax if: 

“... the tangible personal property or service is 
used other than as stated ... or for any other 
purpose that is not exempt from sales or 
compensating tax ...” 

Record Keeping 

Keep all sales tax records, including exemption 
certificates and copies of tax exemption cards (Kansas or 
diplomatic (see page 8), for your current year of business 
and at least three prior years. 

Penalties for Misuse 

A buyer who issues an exemption certificate in order to 
unlawfully avoid payment of the tax for business or personal 
gain is guilty of a misdemeanor, and upon conviction may 
be fined up to $1,000 or imprisoned for up to a year, or 
both. When a buyer is found to have used a Resale 
Exemption Certificate (ST-28A) to avoid payment of the 
tax, the director may also increase any penalty due on the 
tax by $250 or 10 times the tax due, whichever is greater, 
for each transaction where the misuse of a Resale 
Exemption Certificate occurred. 
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KANSAS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 

RESALE EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE 

The undersigned purchaser certifies that the tangible personal property or service purchased from: 

Seller: _________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Business Name 

Address: _________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Street, RR, or P. O. Box City State Zip + 4 

will be resold by me in the form of tangible personal property or repair service. I hereby certify that I hold valid Kansas sales 

tax registration number __________________________ , and I am in the business of selling ______________________ 
(May attach a copy of registration certificate) 

(Description of product(s) sold; food clothing, furniture, etc.) 

Description of tangible personal property or services purchased: ________________________________________ 

I understand and agree that if the items purchased with this certificate are used for any purpose other than retention, 
demonstration, or display while being held for sale in the regular course of business, I am required to report and pay the sales 
tax, based upon the purchase price of the items. 

Purchaser: _________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Name of Kansas Retailer 

Address: _______________________________________________________________________________________ 
Street, RR, or P. O. Box City State Zip + 4 

Signature: ______________________________________________________________ Date: ___________________ 

THIS CERTIFICATE MUST BE COMPLETED IN ITS ENTIRETY. 

WHO MAY USE THIS CERTIFICATE? Only those businesses and organizations that are registered to collect Kansas sales tax and provide 
their Kansas sales tax registration number on this form may use it to purchase inventory without tax. For additional information see Publication 
KS-1520, Kansas Exemption Certificates. 

Nonprofit groups or organizations exempt by law from collecting tax on their retail sales of tangible personal property (such as a PTA or a 
nonprofit youth development organization) should use the exemption certificate issued to it by the Kansas Department of Revenue when 
buying items for resale. 

Wholesalers and buyers from other states not registered in Kansas should use the Multi-Jurisdiction Exemption Certificate, Form ST-28M, to 
purchase their inventory. HOWEVER, if the inventory item purchased by an out-of-state retailer who has sales tax nexus with Kansas is drop 
shipped to a Kansas location, the out-of-state retailer must provide to the third party vendor a Kansas sales tax registration number, either on 
this certificate or the Multi-Jurisdiction Exemption Certificate, for the sale to be exempt. If the out-of-state retailer DOES NOT have sales tax 
nexus with Kansas, it may provide the third party vendor a resale exemption certificate evidencing qualification for a resale exemption, regardless 
of the state in which the retailer is registered for sales tax. 

Contractors, subcontractors, or repairmen may not use this certificate to purchase their materials, parts, or tools. Retailer/Contractors 
should use a Retailer/Contractor Exemption Certificate, Form ST-28W, to purchase their resale inventory. 

WHAT PURCHASES ARE EXEMPT? Only goods or merchandise intended for resale (inventory) are exempt. Tools, equipment, fixtures, 
supplies, and other items purchased for business or personal use are TAXABLE since the buyer is the final consumer of the property. 
The items purchased with this certificate must correspond to the type of business buying them. For example, a retail clothing store may only 
reasonably purchase items of wearing apparel and accessories with this certificate. All other kinds of items are not usually sold by a clothing 
store to their customers and, therefore, cannot be purchased with this certificate. 

LABOR SERVICES. This certificate applies ONLY to items of tangible personal property. A contractor may not use an exemption certificate to 
purchase the labor services of another contractor or subcontractor. Taxable labor services performed by a contractor can ONLY be purchased 
without tax with a Project Exemption Certificate issued by the department or its authorized agent. 

RETAINING THIS CERTIFICATE: Sellers should retain a completed copy of this certificate in their records for at least three years from the 
date of sale. A seller is relieved of liability for the tax if it obtains a completed exemption certificate from a purchaser with which the seller has 
a recurring business relationship. A certificate need not be renewed or updated when there is a recurring business relationship between the 
buyer and seller. A recurring business relationship exists when a period of no more than 12 months elapses between sales transactions. 

ST-28A (Rev. 6-09) 



KANSAS DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 

MULTI-JURISDICTION EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE 

NOTE: Check applicable state laws for authority to issue this certificate for the uses indicated below.
 
Review national tax reporting service publications for information about the states that honor this certificate.

Purchaser: _________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Business Name 

Address: _________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Street, RR, or P.O. Box City State ZIP + 4 

I hereby certify that I am a: 

 Wholesaler of: _____________________________________________________________________________ 
Description of principal product(s) 

 Retailer of: ________________________________________________________________________________ 
Description of principal product(s) 

 Manufacturer of:____________________________________________________________________________ 
Description of principal product(s) 

 Lessor of: _________________________________________________________________________________ 
Description of principal product(s) 

 Other: ____________________________________________________________________________________ 
Description of principal product(s) 

and am registered* in the following cities or states: 

City or State ____________________________________ Registration Number ___________________________ 

City or State ____________________________________ Registration Number ___________________________ 
* Wholesalers are not required to register with the Kansas Department of Revenue to collect sales tax unless they make retail sales.  Retail sales
 include sales to employees. 

The tangible personal property described below which I am purchasing from: 

Seller: _____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Business Name 

Address: _________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
Street, RR, or P.O. Box City State ZIP + 4 

will be for wholesale, resale, or as ingredient or component parts of a new product to be resold, leased, or rented in the 
normal course of my business. 

Description of property purchased with this exemption certificate: __________________________________ 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

I further certify that if the property purchased with this certificate is used or consumed so as to make it subject to sales or 
use tax, I will pay the tax due directly to the proper taxing authority or inform the seller to add tax to the billing. This certificate 
shall be a part of each order that I may give you in the future and is valid until cancelled by me in writing or revoked by the 
city or state. 

Under the penalties of perjury, I swear or affirm that the information on this form is true and correct as to every material matter. 

Authorized Signature: _____________________________________________________ Date:_________________ 

Misuse of this certificate by the seller, lessor, buyer, lessee, or their representative may be punishable by fine, 
imprisonment, or loss of the right to issue certificates in some cities or states. 

CAUTION TO THE SELLER: In order for this certificate to be accepted in good faith, you must exercise care that the property being sold is of a type 
normally sold wholesale, resold, leased, rented, or used as an ingredient or component part of a product manufactured by the buyer in the usual 
course of his business. A seller who fails to exercise due care and good judgment in this regard could be held liable for the sales tax due. 

THIS CERTIFICATE MUST BE COMPLETED IN ITS ENTIRETY. 
ST-28M (Rev. 7-08) 



ABOUT THE MULTI-JURISDICTION EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE

PURPOSE 

The Multi-Jurisdiction Exemption Certificate is used whenever an exempt transaction crosses state lines. In Kansas, it takes 
the place of a Kansas resale or ingredient or component part exemption certificate when: 

1) an out-of-state business, taking delivery of inventory or ingredient parts in Kansas, is not registered in Kansas,
OR 

2) a wholesaler is buying inventory.

A Kansas business buying inventory or ingredient parts in another state may also furnish this certificate to the seller 
in the other state, subject to the laws of that state. 

WHO MAY USE THIS CERTIFICATE? 

Businesses and wholesalers from other states that do not have a Kansas sales tax number to furnish for a Kansas ingredient or 
component part exemption certificate or a Kansas resale exemption certificate must use this certificate to certify that they 
qualify for these two Kansas exemptions when making purchases in Kansas. 

A Kansas wholesaler will use this certificate when buying inventory from either another Kansas business or a business in 
another state. Wholesalers are not required to obtain a Kansas sales tax number. A Kansas retailer may also use this 
certificate when purchasing inventory or ingredient or component parts from a retailer or wholesaler in another state. 

WHAT PURCHASES ARE EXEMPT? 

Only goods and merchandise (tangible personal property) are exempt. To be exempt, the tangible personal property must be for: 
• wholesale sale, 
• retail sale (resale), rental, or lease,
• an ingredient or component part of a new product to be resold, leased, or rented.

In accepting this certificate, the seller should exercise reasonable care and judgment. The property purchased must be of the 
type normally sold wholesale or retail, leased or rented, or used as an ingredient or component part of a product manufactured 
in the customer’s usual course of business. 

Equipment and fixtures for a business are not exempt. When purchased in Kansas, these items are taxable. When a Kansas 
business buys equipment or supplies from another state, the Kansas business will owe Consumers’ Compensating Use tax on 
these purchases unless a sales or use tax of at least equal to the Kansas retailers’ sales tax rate in effect where the item is 
used, stored or consumed. See Publication KS-1510, “Kansas Sales and Compensating Use Tax” available on the 
department’s website. 

RETAINING THIS CERTIFICATE: Sellers should retain a completed copy of this certificate in their records for at least three 
years from the date of sale. A seller is relieved of liability for the tax if it obtains a completed exemption certificate from a 
purchaser with which the seller has a recurring business relationship. A certificate need not be renewed or updated when 
there is a recurring business relationship between the buyer and seller.  A recurring business relationship exists when a period 
of no more than 12 months elapses between sales transactions. 
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TAXPAYER ASSISTANCE 
This publication is a general guide and will not address every situation. If you have questions or need additional information, please contact 
taxpayer assistance at the Kansas Department of Revenue. 

Taxpayer Assistance Center Phone: 785-368-8222 
Docking State Office Building - 1st floor Fax: 785-291-3614 

915 SW Harrison St. Website: ksrevenue.org 
Topeka, KS  66612-1588 

Office hours are 8 a.m. to 4:45 p.m., Monday through Friday. 

PUBLICATIONS 
Below is a list of publications available on the Kansas Department of Revenue’s website. These publications contain instructions applicable 
to specific business industries and general information for all business owners. 

• Publication KS-1216, Kansas Business Tax Application 
• Publication KS-1500, North American Industry Classification System 
• Publication KS-1510, Kansas Sales and Compensating Use Tax 
• Publication KS-1515, Kansas Tax Calendar of Due Dates 
• Publication KS-1520, Kansas Exemption Certificates 
• Publication KS-1525, Kansas Sales and Use Tax for Contractors, Subcontractors and Repairmen
• Publication KS-1526, Kansas Sales and Use Tax for Motor Vehicle Transactions 
• Publication KS-1527, Kansas Sales and Use Tax for Kansas Political Subdivisions 
• Publication KS-1530, Kansas Tire Excise Tax 
• Publication KS-1540, Kansas Business Taxes For Hotels, Motels and Restaurants 
• Publication KS-1550, Kansas Sales and Use Tax for the Agricultural Industry 
• Publication KS-1560, Kansas Tax Guide for Schools and Educational Institutions 
• Publication KS-1700, Kansas Sales Tax Jurisdiction Code Booklet 
• KW-100, Kansas Withholding Tax Guide 

STATE SMALL BUSINESS WORKSHOPS 
As part of our commitment to provide tax assistance to the business community, Tax Specialists within the Kansas Department of Revenue 
conduct small business workshops on Kansas taxes at various locations throughout Kansas. Whether you are a new business owner, an 
existing business owner, or an accountant, these workshops will give you the tools and understanding necessary to make Kansas taxes 
easier and less time consuming for you. Topics covered include filing and reporting requirements and methods, what is taxable, what is 
exempt and how to work with the department in collecting and remitting Kansas taxes. 
For a schedule of our workshops, visit our website. Pre-registration is required and a fee may be charged by the sponsoring Small 
Business Development Center (SBDC). 

Your suggestions and comments on this publication are important to us.  Please address them to: Taxpayer Education, 
Kansas Department of Revenue, 915 SW  Harrison St., Topeka, KS  66612-1588 or call 785-296-1048. 

http://www.ksrevenue.org/forms-bustax.html
www.ksrevenue.org
http://ksrevenue.org/smbusworkshops.html
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